Found 80 product(s) that are

Back Ordered

in the

Jazz Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 21 - 40 of 80 Products
Bud Shank - Barefoot Adventure Product No: AIMX 6048
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impex

Great music, exceptional SQ

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 6, 2024 by Ron from Kenosha Music: 5/5 stars. Just forget that this is a soundtrack to a 1960 documentary about surfing. The record stands on its own as an absolutely fantastic jazz recording. I'd describe the music as transitional between bebop and hardbop--if you have the Carmel Jones Tone Poet, it's like that. Carmel plays on this record, as does Dave Peacock (who also played on the Carmel Jones TP) and Shelly Manne. The whole band sounds fantastic as a unit, and individually. Most of these cats aren't quite household names but the playing is nonetheless top- notch. And the recording has high replay value. It’s in heavy rotation (no pun intended) on my system.

SQ & pressing: 5/5 stars. This is a 100% analog production mastered by Kevin Gray. It is a $40 1x33rpm that sounds like a $60 2x45. It has a lovely warm analog sound, and the clarity and soundstage are just stunning. The mix & EQ (from the original master tape) are perfect.


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - Speak Low Product No: AVEN 0266
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Venus

Great Performance

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 7, 2024 by RS I love the Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio and this is of no surprise. Great performance, recording and very silent vinyl. Get this while you can. You will not be disappointed.


Max Roach - We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite Product No: APPR 9002
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Pure Pleasure Records (Candid)

The definitive version of a landmark recording

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, December 9, 2023 by W Taylor If you are interested in this important work from Max Roach, this is the pressing to get. It is powerful, crisp, and clear. The percussion is mind-blowing.


Wes Montgomery - Boss Guitar Product No: AOJC 261
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Wow factor!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 30, 2023 by Audio Alien Audiophile sound at an affordable price! What a concept. Get this before it's gone.


McCoy Tyner - Nights Of Ballads And Blues Product No: CIPJ 39 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Very relaxing music

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 14, 2023 by Andy Anderson Excellent sound you won’t be disappointed!


Rava/Fresu/Bollani/Pietropaoli/Gatto - Shades Of Chet Product No: AFON 127
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Fone

Great sounding

5 Stars
Posted Monday, September 19, 2022 by Anonymous very nice recording very three dimensional highly recommended


Bill Evans - You Must Believe In Spring Product No: ACONC 455
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Concord Craft Recordings

4 Great Sides of Bill Evans - $40= No Brainer

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 8, 2022 by Anonymous Yes....Just sat down and listened to all 4 sides of this gem today. Like many, I have been digging the original WB pressing mastered by Doug Sax for many years, it's a classic for both sound and music. Flat and quiet pressing and this new 45 rpm version is clearer and both the bass and piano both sound more natural to my ears on my system. At $40 this is a Solid-Gold-Blue-Chip release, kids. Don't even THINK about complaining that Side 4 has only 1 song...It's the Theme from M*A*S*H* (aka Suicide Is Painless) and it's 5 min and change of the most beautiful sound you'll ever hear...Yeah...buy this now...


Tsuyoshi Yamamoto Trio - The Look Of Love - Live At Jazz Is 2nd Set Product No: CVEN 0356 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: Venus

At the club

5 Stars
Posted Monday, April 4, 2022 by Brian VanPelt It is like being at the club. All the instruments sound very real. Basically, you have an upfront seat to this event. As such, all of the instruments have tremendous presence in the room. If you've ever sat near a piano at a club, you can feel a lot of the music it makes. Same goes for the drums and bass. Additionally, there is some clapping between tunes as well as some background chatter when the music is quiet. There is background rumble which is evident on track 4 if you blast the music. I had the music blasted much louder than normal. This is not as evident on the other tracks. Track 4 is completely a bass/cello solo (playing a very cool version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow).

If you keep levels loud, but not overwhelming, then you will experience no distortion or tape hiss (although this might have been recorded digitally).

The playing is very spirited with the piano left of center, the drums centered and the bass between.


Hank Mobley - Soul Station Product No: CBLJ 9022 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Sounds Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, February 12, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I didn't detect any tape hiss, and all of the instruments sound lively and vivid. The recording is excellent.

When Hank Mobley solos alone, I can detect a slight echo to his sax - he appears on the left. The piano is in the middle and the drums are on the left. Each instrument is loud enough to hear clearly, but not so loud as to drown out the others.

I have the Classic Vinyl Reissue of this same album, and I like this quite a bit better. The vinyl version features some tape distortion when Mobley hits loud high notes; while this SACD features no distortion at all. Not only that, this SACD sounds transparent to the analog source. The sound is very focused and sharp. There are times when you can hear Mobley yelp as he's getting into the music.

The soundstage stretches from the left speaker to the right speaker, and it feels like the piano is placed further back, but in the middle.

This is just fantastic. I give it a 5+.


Keith Jarrett Trio - Koln Concert Product No: CECMJ 9059 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Single Layer Stereo SACD
Label: ECM

Just like the record

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 6, 2022 by Brian VanPelt I immediately was able to tell that this SACD sounds exactly the same as the record, minus the surface noise, as I've listened to the album a lot. Of course, zero surface noise means you can turn it up as loudly as you want.

Keith Jarrett's piano occupies mostly the right/middle of the soundstage, It seems like you are sitting on the stage with him. The piano is so well-recorded, you can easily hear every note, and you can hear Jarrett's hands gong up and down the piano keys. Of course, that also means you can hear Jarrett's vocal sounds quite clearly - but if you are a fan a this man, you already know he makes noise while he plays (it seems he gets into some place in his head, and he is able to concentrate intensely as if there is no audience).

This is an amazingly relaxing album. It's incredible to hear someone create music on the fly. You can listen as Keith Jarrett plays note after note until he hits a melody he likes, and then he embellishes on the fly.


Curtis Amy and Dupree Bolton - Katanga Product No: ABLU 87701
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 11, 2021 by Anonymous


Elvin Jones Jazz Machine - At Onkel PO's Carnegie Hall Hamburg 1981 Product No: AJZLI 78041
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Jazzline/PO

Great album for the Elvin Jones fan!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 18, 2021 by Kenny I was privileged to see Elvin and the Jazz Machine live at Yoshi's in Oakland, CA back in 1999. I was sitting no farther than 30 feet from his bass drum; his playing felt like THUNDER! I bought this live album to recreate the memories I had of the concert I attended. Great album. Vinyl sounds great. No issues. Fast delivery from Acoustic Sounds. WARNING: the longest track is over 30 minutes!


Gil Evans - New Bottle, Old Wine Product No: ABLU 47301
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Very Dynamic

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 9, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This Gil Evans records are cut very loud. The very first sound is a blasting horn, which will wake you right up. From that point on, the pace move briskly.

The sense of space was wonderful. You really feel like you are sitting amongst a group of musicians, except it's not an intimate venue. This band is big and encompasses, completely, the space from left-to-right between your speakers. The sharpness of the instruments is fantastic. Every instrument is completely sharp and hyper-dynamic. I don't know if I've ever heard a record this dynamic before. When the horns all play at once, they will knock you out of your seat. Each instrument is easy to point out in space, and there are a lot of instruments.

Several instruments get a chance to solo, but I don't remember which, other than the guitar. There are so many instruments that I lost track. This is the second Gil Evans record (after Out of the Cool) that featured tunes that just throw in everything at you,


Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - The Witch Doctor Product No: ABLU 87501
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Smokin'

5 Stars
Posted Monday, June 7, 2021 by Brian VanPelt This one is cut loud, like most of the other Tone Poet albums. These guys get started and just keep going - there is no dull moment in this one. I heard ideas that I hadn't before, and you can't help but toe-tap to a lot of these tunes.

The surface noise is essentially null and void, but you wouldn't know it because the music is quite loud.

On the right, I heard the sax and Art Blakey on the drums - and he pounds those things into submission. The piano was in the middle, and maybe a trumpet was on the left. The bass lingers somewhere in the back.

This is a seriously dynamic album. All of the instruments sound correct, and they were all played with vigor. To use classical music speak, the whole album is played in allegro; there is no slow down ever. As far as the music is concerned, this is really high on my list of Tone Poet releases. It is toe-tapping and head bobbing, and it's not even like you have a choice.

Freedom of surface noise affords this l


McCoy Tyner - Tender Moments Product No: ABLU 11001
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blue Note (Tone Poet)

Separation of instruments

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 3, 2021 by Brian VanPelt By now, I have come to trust that these Tone Poet records are essentially flawless from a sonic perspective. This record did have some strange scuff marks like I see regularly on the Series 80 reissues, but none of those marks had any sonic effect.

This album has a wonderful dynamic range - another hallmark of this Tone Poet series. When the band kicks into full gear, it is potent, but you can still pinpoint and name every instrument if you try. I just laid back and let it hammer me. Everything is so clear, and the vinyl so quiet, you can really just relax and enjoy without the fear of annoying surface noise.

This album occasionally just explodes forth from the speakers. Mr. Tyner apparently didn't mind having sudden bursts of all 9 players going at once. Every instrument sounds completely natural.

I wish somebody like Deutsche Grammaphon would undertake a Tone Poet - like series of classical records - they are literally as quiet as any records I've ever owned.


Eric Dolphy - Out To Lunch Product No: CBLJ 9020 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Blue Note

Wow!

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 9, 2021 by E. Smith If you like abstract music, this is a must have. First the recording quality is absolutely outstanding on this sacd. The composition and performance are nothing short of amazing. This is a jazz masterpiece. Truly unparalleled. The first track “hat and beard” took my breath away. Dolphy was without a doubt a musical genius. I bought this knowing nothing about him and now I can’t get enough. Thank you acoustic sounds, without you I would never have found this gem.


Alice Coltrane - Journey In Satchidananda Product No: AIMP 228
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Impulse

Great music deserves better pressing

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 20, 2021 by Keith Purchased a Koetsu cartridge a while back and have been on a album purchasing odyssey since. Had the CD of this and really enjoy it, so decided to order....Sorry to say the CD is a little more dynamic, has better separation, and low end. Both offer good imaging, but its one of the few albums I've been disappointed with the pressing. Too bad ....... the music here deserves better.


Ben Webster Quintet - Soulville Product No: CVRJ 8274 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Verve)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2020 by Anonymous


Ben Webster and Harry 'Sweets' Edison - Wanted To Do One Together Product No: CORG 0117 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: ORG - Original Recordings Group

This is a Must Own!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 11, 2020 by Nat X I have many albums that I love...and they stay that way...and so often I think that I won't find another one that can come close to any position on that list of the great ones. There are many reasons I love them...some were played during certain times....some I heard out of nowhere and had to own. But...I keep buying albums...always searching...always chasing the dragon. From the first note on this album I was hooked. I'm not saying it's the greatest album of all time...but if you love music...you need to own this. Phenomenal....peaceful...powerful. You'll dig it.


Keith Jarrett Trio - Still Live Product No: AECM 66801
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: ECM

Phenomenal Live Set and Recording

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 28, 2020 by S. Madon This is an outstanding performance of standards by this phenomenal jazz trio, made more so special because it is beautifully recorded. The sound stage and imaging in this recording are amazing. The musicianship is incomparable! DeJohnette's drums center stage, slightly elevated, Gary Peacock's bass in front center, Jarrett's piano to the right. Cymbals crash, shift and ride, the notes bend and roll off the bass, and Keith's piano ties it all together crystal clear during one gem of a musical night. A must-have in every serious audiophile jazz collection.



Viewing 21 - 40 of 80 Products