Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Found 34 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre from the

Analogue Productions (Prestige)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 21 - 34 of 34 Products
Kenny Burrell - Bluesey Burrell Product No: CPRJ 29 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Close Up and Personal

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 25, 2022 by Brian VanPelt This is a low key album. Every instrument seems closely mic'd, with Burrell's being the most prominent. As such, you can hear every detail of each of the instruments - and every pluck of Burrell's guitar (and you'll need that because he can fly sometimes, even when he's just chilling). So, the recording is awesome, and there is no tape hiss.

Most of the action happens out of the left and right channels, but sometimes there is sound in the middle. Burrell is usually in the left channel, the drummer in the right and the pianist in the center. The bass seems in the back, but a little right of center. The bassist can verbally hum at almost the same frequency he bows the bass. Some tunes feature a sax on the right.

Essentially perfect. I could notice no sonic flaws whatsoever. The sound has a very nice analog feel to it, so it probably sounds almost identical to the master tape.


John Coltrane - Lush Life Product No: APRJ 7188
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Fantastic release from a fantastic series

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 23, 2022 by Mario Very clear and rich sound. The presentation is outstanding in both the cover and the record itself. The deep groove in the label is really cool. Totally recommended


Sonny Rollins - Rollins Plays For Bird Product No: APRJ 7095
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 21, 2021 by Anonymous


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: CPRJ 7165 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Superb

5 Stars
Posted Friday, June 26, 2020 by Erich Excellent recording and performance. Kevin Gray's master is fantastic on this SACD with superb sound. Very enjoyable...I'm playing it over and over.


Arnett Cobb - Ballads By Cobb Product No: APRJ 14
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Totally Chill

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 23, 2017 by Rick Am a big Cobb fan and really enjoy listening to this after a long day of work. All ballads but many have a bluesy feel. The usual kudos to QRP - quiet pressing with lots of detail and rich tone.


Jackie McLean - Lights Out! Product No: APRJ 7035
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

A must own

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 17, 2017 by Len Cronin Incredible recording (who needs stereo) and wonderful performances.


Eric Dolphy - Far Cry Product No: APRJ 8270
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

How does vinyl get any better!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 24, 2017 by Kevin I just can't believe how good this vinyl is!!! Sound-stage is great, detail of the instruments is perfect. The quality is the best in every way, and of course Eric and company are in top form. Jazz in this style is progressive, but its so interesting and complex, I love it.


Gil Evans - Gil Evans and Ten Product No: APRJ 7120
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Incredible!

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 13, 2016 by Ian C. Another sonic spectacular by Analogue Productions. Crazy good music, sonics and pressing. Highly recommended.


Eric Dolphy - Out There Product No: APRJ 8252
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

I hear ghosts!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 22, 2016 by Jeff R. The recording and pressing are absolutely stellar. Listening to my gear, the recording sounds incredibly real, but then I have to remind myself... I hear ghosts!


John Coltrane - Standard Coltrane Product No: APRJ 7243
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

wonderful!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 1, 2016 by emmanuel I am really glad I bought this record. Just aamazing!


Kenny Burrell - Bluesey Burrell Product No: APRJ 29
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, August 1, 2016 by Anonymous


Eric Dolphy - At The Five Spot, Vol. 1 Product No: APRJ 8260
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

the beginnings of a revolution!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 2, 2016 by Emmanuel the music captured here is pivotal to the evolution of free jazz. Dolphy and Little's innovative approach were not always welcome by listener's and fellow musicians but the soldiered on because they believed they were onto something good.

this reissue does justice to the music! Absolutely 100% authentic analog presentation.

i can't find a single fault..

More people need to hear Dolphy's early stuff.


Booker Ervin - The Freedom Book Product No: APRJ 7295
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Freedom is good thing

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, March 2, 2016 by Emmanuel Another stellar reissue by Analogue productions from the venerable Prestige catalogs. Booker is not well known to most Jazz fans but after hearing this record on this reissue you will wish you knew him, but even better you will be glad you bought this record.

As usual AP has spared no expense on this reissue, top of the line tip-on jacket, impressive slab of 200G vinyl deep groove label with exact replica and last but not the least sonic quality second to none.

If you don't have a copy on the way you are missing out on what is a stellar record by one of the best saxophonist ever!

You will spend some money this year on a reissue that will be so lifeless you will want to quit buying records, this AP release is the antidote to that lifeless reissue cut from trashy digital files!


Gene Ammons - Boss Tenor Product No: APRJ 7180
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 28, 2016 by Anonymous


Arnett Cobb - Party Time Product No: APRJ 7165
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 21, 2016 by Anonymous


Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis & Johnny Griffin Quintet - The Tenor Scene Product No: APRJ 7191
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

A must have !

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 27, 2015 by Anonymous Couldn't get any better then this !


Miles Davis - Steamin' With The Miles Davis Quintet Product No: APRJ 7200
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Smokin'

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 30, 2015 by Emmanuel This record should have been called "smoking'" Miles is smoking on the cover. This AP reissue is certainly that, smoking'.


John Coltrane - Lush Life Product No: CPRJ 7188 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

John Coltrane - Lush Life Hybrid SACD MONO

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 6, 2014 by Mark Powers I will preface all my jazz reviews that I am a newcomer to jazz and easily impressed. I am having great fun with these 2014 AP Prestige series discs. John Coltrane does not disappoint. I immediately got to know him on the opening track, Like Someone in Love, as his sax is very prominent with a subtle bass groove and even more subtle drums with brushes. Tracks 1,2,3 are a trio and tracks 4&5 a quartet with added piano. The mono is superb, I want to say very well balanced but it is mono so I will just say great clarity, depth, good bass, and lovely to listen to. Packaging is heavy cardboard gate fold with liner notes by Joe Goldberg. Very glad to have this 2014 reissue of a great 1957 recording.


Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus Product No: CPRJ 7079 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus Hybrid SACD Mono 2014

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 2, 2014 by Mark Powers As I continue into my jazz listening experimentation, again I am not dissapointed. A 1956 mono recording brought to life in this 2014 reissue. This performance was a sleepy, calming trip for me, leaving me very relaxed and in a good mood. The AP mono reissue was stunning to my baby ears as I have nothing to compare it to. I loved the drumming by Max Roach and the smooth saxophone, strong piano, and great bass. When I listened I could really feel the vibe of the recording studio and the way they had to record, less mics, very quiet, everybody at total professionalism to do there part. Colossus is an understatement.


Miles Davis - Bags Groove Product No: CPRJ 7109 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Mono SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Prestige)

Miles Davis - Bags Groove Hybrid SACD Mono

5 Stars
Posted Monday, October 27, 2014 by Mark Powers Loved it. This music was from before my time. A 1957 mono recording reproduced exceptionally well on this hybrid SACD disc. I am not an expert in jazz and am just picking up discs here and there. I am really thrilled with this recording both by performance and the pure sonic beauty of this reissue. I have purchased a few others from the Analogue Productions Prestige Series and am looking forward to more listening. Sonny Rollins is great.



Viewing 21 - 34 of 34 Products

Refine Your Search