Found 11 product(s) in the

Jazz Music

genre from the

Analogue Productions (Impulse)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products
John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: CIPJ 77 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Fabulous!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson The Analogue Productions mastering is the SACD version of this to own -- clearly and obviously superior to older CD and SACD versions. For once the sound is open, uncompressed, and natural rather than processed sounding. Please give us the rest of the Impulse Coltrane canon, Chad!


John Coltrane - John Coltrane Quartet Plays Product No: CIPJ 85 SA
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Wonderful!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 26, 2015 by Joe Johnson Analogue productions has done it again. This is night and day superior to other digital versions. Let's hope there are more of these Coltrane/Impulse releases to come.


Coleman Hawkins - Wrapped Tight Product No: AIPJ 87
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Warped Tight!

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, January 9, 2014 by Emmanuel I've hesitated about buying the AP impulse titles for a long time because most of the original master tapes were lost in a fire. As such, many of these are sourced safeties and 2nd gen. sources. Now that I bought several of them I am willing to say that they sound fantastic. The Jackets are in the same league as Music Matters' jackets.

There's just one problem, Pallas or RTI (whoever pressed them) did a poor job on pressing these records. They're not flat on the platter and during playback you can see them wobble due to a warp defect.


McCoy Tyner - Nights Of Ballads And Blues Product No: AIPJ 39
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Real McCoy Again and Again

4 Stars
Posted Friday, January 27, 2012 by Triodeotl One of the finest jazz pianists ever. This work on Impulse is a trio and highlights all the players as an ensemble but its Tyner's album all the way.

Good sound and great playing. Check out the drum work on side two. Worth owning lust to hear that.

Get it now! again a very fine sound amoung the best Impulses.

++++


Sonny Rollins - On Impulse! Product No: AIPJ 91
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

The New Wave of Jazz is on Impulse!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 1, 2011 by Tom Warren Impulse's mato rings true, I think the entire Impulse catalog is worth owning, they were one up and beyond the competition, in their day charging a dollar more then the others. Many artists did their best work for the label. "The House That Trane Built" by Ashley Kahn explains it all. This Rollins is particularly well recorded with Sonny's horn right in the center and every musician displayed prominently with Booker's bass right beside the saxophonist, Bryant's piano on the left and Roker's traps on the right. Van Gelder was prolific, unfortunately not all his stereo efforts are as top rated as this. Don't miss it.


Shelly Manne - 2, 3, 4 Product No: AIPJ 20
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Superb!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 19, 2011 by ZooDoc My first record, purchased when I was thirteen, was the jazz score from the movie "Man With The Golden Arm". I have it, as well as a re-issue. Best jazz score ever. The drummer was Shelly Manne. These 45s (234) are superb. I can't believe after 50 years, I am hearing something this good. ZooDoc


Oliver Nelson - The Blues and the Abstract Truth Product No: CIPJ 5 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

WOW

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 21, 2010 by GARCRA Out of 200 SACD's I own (mostly Jazz & Pop/Rock) this is in the top three, maybe #1. It's stunningly good music. I can't find a flaw in any aspect of this disc.


John Coltrane - A Love Supreme Product No: AIPJ 77
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Amazing

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, September 9, 2010 by Kevin This album is a magical moment in jazz history. Its music you can listen to and grow with your whole life. Hearing the 45 rpm version of this classic was a new experience. As I listened it was like hearing it for the first time. I was drawn into the performance like never before. Bottom line is that if this album is one you like you have to get this.


Charles Mingus - Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus Product No: CIPJ 54 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Stereo SACD
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Holy bam!! Mingus to the Xtreme!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, July 21, 2010 by Jim Koffman First, it was like a rush of cherry flavor. Sweet, smooth, and well, very Mingus. Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus was a well crafted display of well timed Mingus. If you know Mingus like I know Mingus... You'll love this dope flashback of Mingus in his prime... So much Mingus!! A large man shower of Mingus!!! Ohhhhh myyy!!! MIIINNNNGUUUSSSSS!!


Ben Webster - See You at the Fair Product No: AIPJ 65
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Awesome recording

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 15, 2010 by Ken Lui Great tunes and great sound. Almost every track is good. Absolutely a quality reference disc.


John Coltrane - Coltrane Product No: AIPJ 21
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Analogue Productions (Impulse)

Fine Album

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, October 20, 2009 by Kevin For Coltrane fans this is a must have album. His sax in a few places goes in and out a little. My guess is that he was swaying when he recorded this. The bass end is my biggest concern, it is ok but really lacks definition in the lower areas of the bass. If the notes are higher it seems to work better but there is a roll off and muddiness in the bottom end on some of the songs. Its still really worth getting this lp, just be aware of a few of its shortcomings. This music is Coltrane on his way to A Love Supreme, you hear hints of his older style and evidence of his new direction. I gave it 4 stars due to the bass sound I mentioned, but all in all be sure to pick this up.



Viewing 1 - 11 of 11 Products