Found 13 product(s) from the

Polydor

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products
Eric Clapton - Slowhand 35th Anniversary Product No: APLD 770201
Available: InStock
Category: 200 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Good, not Great!

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by Anonymous


The Who - Who's Next Product No: CPLJ 9596 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Great album, not a great SACD

4 Stars
Posted Friday, April 20, 2018 by Anonymous The Who is my favorite rock band, and this is perhaps their greatest studio album (excepting Live at Leeds which is stunning).

The music here is great. If you don't have this album in a format you love already, then this SACD is worth considering.

The problem with this SHM-SACD is similar to about 70% of the other SHM-SACD releases I've purchased. It just sounds flat. This is not what this album sounds like. It is The Who at their most explosive. Even the video of the recording of Baba O'Reily on "The Kids are Alright" Blu Ray sounds better than this. It is almost as if there is a level of compression here that holds the sound back from it's normal impact. The Dynamic Range Database puts this SACD at between 9 (not great) and 11 (also not great.) There are recordings of The Who from earlier years such as Tommy and Quadrophonia, which both sound better. Anyway, this is a great album, but the sound of this SACD is less than optimal.


Eric Clapton - Slowhand Product No: XUNI24383D64
Available: InStock
Category: DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download
Label: Polydor

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 27, 2018 by Anonymous


Eric Clapton - No Reason To Cry Product No: XUNI3491F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Polydor

Great Music with an excellent back up people.

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 31, 2017 by timb5881 Not a well known album by EC, but it is very well presented hear.


ABBA - Gold-Greatest Hits Product No: APLD 5351106
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Almost perfect sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 31, 2014 by Brian VanPelt The sound quality is wonderful on this album. Everything is completely sharp and in-focus. All the voices are easy to understand, and the vinyl itself is pretty dead quiet. The songs all sound very pristine as if they were just recorded. The only thing I might fuss about, and it's only because I'm a huge vinyl fan, is that everything is somewhat right in the middle - like a beefed-up mono recording. While the music is crystal clear, the entire sound stage adamantly stays between the speakers, never filling the room in three-dimensionality or width. Since I've never heard ABBA sound three-dimensional before, I'm guessing that this is just how the recording was done.

As for the album, it has all the greatest hits, I believe. At least for me, there are no songs that I'm missing. I'm not a giant ABBA fan, but I do enjoy their songs from time to time.

Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.


Cream - Goodbye Product No: CPLJ 9557 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Cream - Goodbye SHM-SACD

5 Stars
Posted Friday, September 5, 2014 by Mark Powers For some reason always has been my favorite Cream album. Japanese SHM-SACD packaging is great, with mini exact replica of original album. Liner notes in Japanese and track listings and lyrics in English. This release has great sound quality even from a gritty original recording and live recordings. 2 channel, stereo only, no outtakes or mono tracks as there is with Disraeli Gears. Cream albums do not shine like the glam and gloss of other high end reissues. The early recordings are just too gritty, which is the point, right? However this disc reissue is worth the cost as the reissue here does clear up some unwanted noise.


Cream - Disraeli Gears Product No: CPLJ 9534 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Does also exists as...

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 22, 2014 by Barleyps ...a Platinum SHM-CD limited edition release (both of them plays very well on standard CD players, despite this site warning)


Eric Clapton - Give Me Strength: The 74/75 Recordings Product No: APLD 3754596
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Polydor

Couldn't Be Better

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 19, 2014 by Jeff O I was absolutely floured by the vinyl and the sound quality! Clapton Was Here will actually be true after you have played the record. The dynamics, the micro detail, the timbre and the live mic feeds are here. I have these records by MFSL, the SACD's and the regular vinyl copies. This has been the biggest surprise of the year as I took a gamble when I really thought I didn't need to buy anymore copies of Clapton's. Trust me when I say that this will tax your system to it's fullest. You can crank the volume up forever and everything just gets better. I am hopeful to find out who did the pressing on these sonic wonders so I can buy more from them.


Eric Clapton - Slowhand - 35th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition Product No: APLD 5340725
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Multi-Format Box Sets
Label: Polydor

HORRIBLE PACKAGING!!! Do not pay $100 for this!!

1 Stars
Posted Friday, December 21, 2012 by JeffersonDD This product cannot be opened without DESTROYING the packaging. Once destroyed the CD's and especially the DVD-A sound great; better imaging and soundstage than the original. The LP is inferior to the late 70's MFSL pressing though. So buy the DVD-A and a MFSL on Ebay and you're golden. Stay away from this box though!


The Who - Quadrophenia Product No: CPLJ 9597 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

You know you want it...

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 9, 2012 by Protonboy I have just about every version of this album. I bought the new box in shm. This is a special experience. There are characteristics of separate instruments joining to make a wall of sound that make this an amusement park for your ear bones. Sure is pricy.But,that is the price you pay for better technology being used on the other side of the planet. Worth working overtime to get it.Special.


Cream - Wheels of Fire Product No: CPLJ 9042 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Wow

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, February 8, 2012 by brian Well worth it.


Dire Straits - Dire Straits Product No: CPLJ 9634 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Polydor

Very Hissy

1 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 17, 2011 by SteveK Sounds like this taken from a tenth generation tape. This is the hissiest CD or SACD I've ever heard. One can hear print through from the tape during quiet passages. Very disappointing as it is such a great album. It images well, etc, but hiss hiss hiss and print through on a $60 disc...you've got to be kidding me!


Eric Clapton - Slowhand Product No: CPLD 363936 SA
Available: InStock
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Polydor

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, March 19, 2005 by Anonymous



Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products