Found 13 product(s) from the

Music Matters (Blue Note)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products
Tina Brooks - Back To The Tracks Product No: AMMJ 4052
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 13, 2019 by Anonymous


Horace Silver and The Jazz Messengers - Horace Silver And The Jazz Messengers Product No: AMMJ 1518
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 2, 2015 by Anonymous


Herbie Hancock - Empyrean Isles Product No: AMMJ 84175
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

wpw

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, March 31, 2015 by rr it's outstanding! this is my 6th music matter's blue note. best yet.


Horace Parlan - Headin' South Product No: AMMJ 4062
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

Head South, Young Man. Head South!

5 Stars
Posted Monday, January 27, 2014 by Emmanuel First thing that drew me to this album was the Reid Miles cover; reminded me of Hitchcock's North by Northwest for some odd reason. While Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint never made it to Latin American shores in that wonderful Hitchcock film, Horace Parlan and his band indeed landed off the shores of Latin America on this album and were quite at home with the assistance of Conga player Ray Barretto.

This is one of the most infectious Latin tinged grooves ever put out by Blue Note; simple, powerful and groovy. Music Matters have done an A+ plus job on this reissue once again; from the jacket to the vinyl everything screams quality


The Jazz Messengers - At The Cafe Bohemia Volume 1 Product No: AMMJ 1507
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

Message: Loud and Clear

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, December 22, 2013 by Emmanuel This is one of those storied Blue Note albums that bears the 767 Lexington Ave. NYC address on the record label. The kind of Blue Note title that if you found a decent original would set you back two or three month's mortgage payments. but why throw away money chasing historical artifacts when you can have something better and grander. I'm talking about two 180g LP of this record cut from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray at 45rpm, housed in a jacket that is worth the price of admission alone.

It's all about sound and this Music Matters reissue doesn't disappoint. If you can find an original at the price of an arm and a leg that sounds this good then you are welcome to it. The music jumps off this vinyl into my room with 3D forcefulness. Just drop that needle on the groove and you will start conjuring up holograms of Art Blakey and the gang. As it's swan song to the 45rpm record Music Matters has produced a record no serious jazz fan can live without.


Horace Parlan - Happy Frame Of Mind Product No: AMMJ 4134
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

I'm beyond happy!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 13, 2013 by Emmanuel I bought my fist Music Matters title (Empyrean Isles) 2 yrs. ago and I didn't play the record until this year. Since then I've not been able get enough of these wonderful Blue Note reissues. I just finished listening to this record and it did not disappoint. From the opening track "Home is Africa" to the closing title track the entire album sparkles. The Grant Green solos stand out particularly in this album. As usual the sonics are tremendous, the music is first class and the jacket is gorgeous. What more can a music lover want? More Music Matters Blue Note reissues, that's what I want?


Dexter Gordon - Doin' Allright Product No: AMMJ 4077
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, May 26, 2013 by Anonymous


Horace Silver Quintet - 6 Pieces of Silver Product No: AMMJ 1539
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

6 Pieces of Silver

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 12, 2012 by Anonymous Great sound, as usual with Music Matters,4 stars because one or two visible little scuffs, as for the last MM I have bought, Quality control must be perfect..


J.R. Monterose - J.R. Monterose Product No: AMMJ 1536
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

Side 4 Track 1 is very clicky.

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 15, 2011 by JDD Has anyone else had this problem? Otherwise very nice mono punch:)


Elvin Jones - Puttin' It Together Product No: AMMJ 4282
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

A Real Gem

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 3, 2011 by MichelJazz Thanks to Musicmatters I discovered this Elvin Jones album and the sound is really great on this 45rpm album.


Clifford Brown - Memorial Album Product No: AMMJ 1526
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

Music Matters Clifford Brown

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, June 24, 2010 by Tom Warren This is my favorite Music Matters release so. For both the music and the sound quality. Is it the mono mix that presents the sound so whole? The all-star cast rises above the "Blue Note" sound and the music is singular in the history of jazz, spectacular. John Lewis takes the lead in 'Cherokee' and Brownie follows in a stunning outline of the phrases. Lou Donaldson plays equal to Clifford's mastery. Either a great introduction to this legend or a continuance of study.


Curtis Fuller - The Opener Product No: AMMJ 1567
Available: InStock
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

A MUST HAVE

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, April 8, 2010 by Michael This record is one of the rare trombone records, since in my opinion the trombone is an underestimated instrument. Often it is only used as support, but here you have it in the lead. It's difficult to recommend any special song, since you have to hear this record as a whole. In my opinion clearly a must have and especially in this pressing which reveals all the details - a record not to be missed!


Sonny Clark - Cool Struttin' Product No: AMMJ 1588
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 45 RPM Vinyl Record
Label: Music Matters (Blue Note)

Sounds Great but...

5 Stars
Posted Monday, March 2, 2009 by Justin Javan Okay this is one of my favorite jazz albums of all time. My complaint with this album is that 45 rpm should sound better than 33 1/3 rpm. I mean if I have to get up every ten minutes to switch sides the sound better blow my mind. Unfortunately I can't tell the difference between this and the regular version. Save your money, buy the 33 1/3 rpm version, and enjoy one of the greatest jazz albums ever.



Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products