Found 13 product(s) in the

Metal Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products
Metallica - Master Of Puppets Product No: ABLN 005R
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Blackened Recordings

Crank it!!!

5 Stars
Posted Friday, December 15, 2017 by Ray P On first listen thought was quite disappointing. however this album is really meant to be listened to at metal volumes. If you have a capable system and love metal you will not be disappointed. Crank it and Bang your head.


Mastodon - Crack the Skye Product No: XWAR912415F88
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download
Label: Reprise

Great Content - Overly Compressed Recording

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 10, 2017 by Jason I had high hopes for the quality of this recording. Unfortunately, for an 88.2/24 release it is far to compressed to do the format any justice.

Due to the brickwalled compression, I wouldn't recommend this recording in high resolution format. The 44.1/16 is more than enough to reproduce what the engineers gave us.

Now as for the material... It is absolutely fantastic! If you like Mastodon, this is one of their best pieces of work. The content holds a special place with the lyricist (I will let you go down that rabbit hole yourself) and it shows on this very well put together production.

I only wish the engineers had given us something more delicate to support the program material.

In summary, if you own this already on CD or vinyl, you wont get much more out of this release. It is a fair price and if you don't have it already it's worth picking up. Just don't expect to be blown away by any increased detail in the 88.2/24 release.

5 stars for content, 3 stars for sound.


AC/DC - For Those About To Rock We Salute You Product No: AEPI 80208
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, June 15, 2014 by Anonymous


AC/DC - Highway to Hell Product No: AEPI 80206
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

POOR

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 19, 2013 by Anonymous The original pressings blow away the AC/DC reissues. Might be analog sourced but I think digital mix/mastering.


Megadeth - Rust In Peace Product No: ACAP 91935
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Capitol

Excellent

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 7, 2012 by Anonymous This is quite an excellent pressing. In my opinion, worthy of the Mobile Fidelity label. This actually sounds better than the MFSL pressing of "Countdown to extinction". Nice low end, and overall tonal balance.


Riot - Fire Down Under Product No: AAFZ 1511
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Audio Fidelity

a fun surprise

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 10, 2011 by bill berndt I purchased this lp new in '81. Was at the record store when they put it on. Have the same copy I purchased that day. When I saw this was being given the QRP treatment I got really excited. I really like what I have been hearing from my QRP lps in terms of new levels of low surface noise and pressing quality control. This Riot album is as they say one of the best hard rock metal crossover albums from the early 80's. The Kevin Grey remastering corrects the painful out of phase issues of the original. He also teases some of the compression effects out, albiet he was certainly limited by what he was working with. The bass goes really low on the reissue. I can now hear the bass lines on the songs, they are no longer hidden in the mix. A wonderful reissue, I heartily endorse and suggest.


AC/DC - Powerage Product No: AEPI 80204
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 16, 2011 by Anonymous


Bullet For My Valentine - Fever Product No: AJIV 63947
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Jive Records

excellent example of vinyl over CD

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, September 12, 2010 by MarkBryston This vinyl release is WAY better than the digital CD. Extremely dynamic. But it was released almost 6 months ago and I have had it for almost three months before it became available here. Why?

This and A7x might be the seminal metal album release of the year. Each track flows extremly well. Every track is top notch, garnering a 9 or 10 save the title track...maybe an 8. Many highlights include the lead off track "My Betrayal" and track 6 "Alone"...you will be looking forward to each track after the other and the vinyl will greatly enhance your enjoyment over the CD!


Judas Priest - Sad Wings Of Destiny Product No: AKOC 4580
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Koch Records

poor pressing

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, July 24, 2010 by Anonymous Ilove this album. Too bad the pressing was of such poor quality. I returned it for a replacement which was just as bad. Some very nasty pops and cracles


Queensryche - Operation Mindcrime Product No: ACAP 48640
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Capitol

Sounds just like the CD

3 Stars
Posted Friday, November 14, 2008 by John Hudson Let me start with saying I love this album, but I am disappointed with the re-issue, it sounds just like the CD.


Metallica - Death Magnetic Product No: AWAR 512119
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Warner Bros.

The 45 RPM is Super Sweet!!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 22, 2008 by Jerry McCormick What a sweet box set! The new album is great material and the 45 RPM format totally rocks. The CD version is a nice bonus, saves me from having to burn it myself. The individual jackets are pretty cool. Nice packaging, premium sound, a little pricey - but worth every penny. Should be no surprise, all of the 45 RPM Metallica reissues have been rock solid as well.


AC/DC - Back in Black Product No: AEPI 80207
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Epic

Quintessential Rock and Roll

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, August 9, 2006 by James Tremblay Back in Black, in my opinion, is the quintessential AC/DC album. Every tune is top notch, offering the listener catchy riff work, straight ahead boom-boom and some great lyric work. With Hell's Bells as the anthem piece, the rest of the LP follows in stride and keeps the listener on his toes time after time. The heavy vinyl release surely usurps the CD, and this is a must-have LP for any rock-n-roller with an audiophile bent.


TOOL - Lateralus Product No: AVOL 31160
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Volcano Recordings

5 stars for the music though

3 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 10, 2006 by JT well the tracklist is not in the order which it says above so that was the first disappointment I suppose it was to preserve continuity but to me it throws lateralus all out of whack disposition follows parabola on this release, to me this really disrupts the closing of the record, anyone familiar with the album knows that the end of disposition is really an intro to reflection and I for one considered tracks 10,11 & 12 from the cd to be a sort of trilogy if you will. 2nd, the picture disks are neat but don't seem to be in any order like the booklet for the cd was not a big deal but obviously just thrown together as was the inner artwork which is a sort of fractal of the cover, on first listen I really couldn't tell that this was analog but perhaps they recorded the album on pro tools I don't know much about tool behind the scenes and who really does, still I feel a little ripped off by the high price of this so-so release, this is one of my favorite albums, but this version is sad



Viewing 1 - 13 of 13 Products