Found 26 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Speakers Corner (Decca)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 20 of 26 Products
Istvan Kertesz - Dvorak: Symphony No. 5 ('From the New World') Product No: ADEC 2289
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Great vinyl pressing of a classic recording!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, October 3, 2012 by Len Grusk A clean pressing on 180-gram vinyl of a wonderful performance of Dvorak's 9th. This is my favorite performance of this masterwork, and the cleaning resolution here revealed nuances that I had never heard before. The SACD of this recording fetches $200 on EBay. You can get the vinyl recording, which is just as good IMO, for a fraction of the cost! Buy it (you won't regret it!)!


Horenstein/ Hindemith - Bruch: Scottish Fantasia/ Hindemith: Violin Concerto Product No: ADEC 6035
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Hindemith Kicks Ass

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 11, 2012 by Triodeotl This whole LP is fantastic. Great orchestral playing and the soloist if beyond superb. The Hindemith kicks ass and the sound is super with great sonority and lots of bass slam and hall ambience. Go get it now! Sweet violin tone that sounds very close. Oh the sound of the bow on the strings. What a sound!


Ernest Ansermet - Bizet: Carmen Suite, L'Arlesienne Suite Product No: ADEC 2037
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Long Awaited Re-Issue

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, July 26, 2012 by Triodeotl This is one of the rarest and hardest to find of all of Ansermet LP's. It is also on of the best. This LP is 9 on 10 scale. The sound is so transparent. Buy it now while you still can. Highly recommended. ++++


Ansermet, L'orch. De la Suisse Romande - Debussy: La Boite a Joujoux etc. Product No: UDEC SXL2136-180
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Preowned Vinyl Record

This item is Preowned. It is not sealed and has most likely been played before.
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Debussy Toy Box

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 28, 2012 by Triodeotl This LP has fantastic sound but I think the London Blueback cover is more fitting with the young girl on the cover.

Now out of print this Speakers Corner issue will likely increase in desirablity. Perhaps someone like ORG will re-issue it on 45 RPM for everyone to have again.

If you can find it don't miss it.


Clifford Curzon - Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 Product No: ADEC 2114
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

What RCA Did Not Tell You

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, February 28, 2012 by Triodeotl If you want the most fantastically played piano concerto #! Then look no farther than this Decca LP. Much crisper and more dimensional sound than anything RCA offered with Van Cliburn.

As a matter of fact the playing of the soloist and the ensemble is of a higher order than the RCA Living Stereo.

One of the most beautiful piano concertos of all times and one of the most animated and lyrical musically. My vote is for this Decca re-issue with Curzon and Solti. Fantastic in every way.

Pressings are flat and noise free. Beautiful Decca replica covers of the highest degree. What more could you possibly want? Look no further! Piano on fire!


Fruhbeck De Burgos - Albeniz: Suite Espanola Product No: ADEC 6355
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Decca Super Disk

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 28, 2012 by Triodeotl This is one of the crown jewels of the Decca catalog. Sumptious sound. Warm acoustic with lots of air and dimension. One of the finest examples of my perception of what recorded music is supposed to be.

Meets all of my expectations for semblence of reality in every way. Should be one everyones list. Once you hear it you'll never forget it.

This is music and sound of the very highest order. de Burgos and his orchestra are playing for keeps and take no prisoners. Top 10 Decca recording and deserving of every accolade ever laid upon it.

Everone I have played this for was stunned by its sound and music. Buy it now. Buy two you won't regret it. Fantastic LP and highly recommended !!!!


Ataulfo Argenta - Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique Product No: ADEC 2009
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Another Super Disk

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 27, 2012 by Triodeotl It's easy to understand why Speakers Corner chose this LP for re-issue. One of the earliest Decca recordings this is also one of the finest. Argenta's reading of Berlioz's work puts you right in the front row.

Sound is amongst the best that Decca/London ever achieved. Huge soundstage with tons of depth and air. A sonic knockout that really pushes the envelope musically and sonically. The music and conductor were made for this recording.

One of the great ones. Get it no while you still can. You'll love it! Recommended highly! Don't miss it...


Ernest Ansermet - Stravinsky: The Fire Bird (Complete Ballet) Product No: ADEC 2017
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

One of the Best

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, May 25, 2011 by Triodeotl This DECCA recording of the "The Firebird" is not to be missed. Recording is superb and atmaspheric. The performance is on par with the celebrated Mercury with Dorati conducting.

But if you have the Mercury with Dorati do not let that put you off. This is one of the top 100 classical records of all times. Its on my list and should be on yours too.

Pressings were flat and silent. Another + for Speakers Corner. Highly recommended!


Josef Krips - Schubert: Symphony No. 9 ('The Great') Product No: ADEC 2045
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Wonderful Sonics

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 15, 2010 by Anonymous This recording has wonderful sonics, including lush strings and raspy brass presentation. The 3D soundstage is great. Top notch.


Peter Maag - Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream Product No: ADEC 2060
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Stunning sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, May 7, 2010 by pbda Every now and then I listen to an LP that sounds so good that my jaw drops. This is one of them. A wonderful reading of wonderful music, this reissue sounds phenomenal. Well worth owning.


Pierino Gamba - Rossini Overtures Product No: ADEC 2266
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Super Disk

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 2, 2009 by Anonymous This re-issue is of one of Decca's most respected recordings. It is on the TAS Super Disk list in the original pressing. It is a highly sought after LP.

The sonics on this LP are amazing but the music is made up of short incidental overtures if you like that sort of thing. So I rate this 5 for sound and about 3 1/2 for music. Recommended.


Zubin Mehta & the Los Angeles Philharmonic - Holst: The Planets Product No: ADEC 6529
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Beautiful Sound.

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 27, 2009 by M.Hamed. Wonderful both conducting and sound quality vinyl, soft relaxed and yet very open.


Georg Solti - Mahler: Symphony No. 2 'Resurrection' Product No: ADEC 325/6
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Caveat Emptor

2 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 20, 2009 by Anonymous After I added a Grado Phono Pre-Amp to my system, I thought I would get something nice. This album is a stone cold disappointment. I must emphasize that it is not worth the 65 buck$. The acoustics are very dry and without drama. The tempo is fast; I assume Solti was double-parked. Cymbal crashes are cut off. For comparison I played my Slatkin-Telarc Mahler 2nd album, and it sounds like it was recorded in a symphonic hall. This album sounds like it was recorded in a room with echo suppression. Just because it was recorded before 1970 does not make it a recording to die for.


Georg Solti, Helen Watts & London Symphony - Mahler: Symphony No. 3 in D Minor Product No: ADEC 385/6
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Powerful performance marred by production problems

3 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 31, 2008 by Mark D. This excellent reissue by Speakers Corner is up to their usual exemplary standards in reproduction and attention to detail, however there is no denying the problems that lie with the original masters and/or mastering. Print- through, and some unfortunate compression issues all contribute to distraction from an otherwise insightful and passionate interpretation. Solti always delivers in Mahler, if even sometimes at the expense of the finer textures. Overall, a successful and thoughtful conception unfortunately compromised by Decca's usually outstanding technicians.


Aram Khachaturian - Spartacus & Gayaneh Product No: ADEC 6000
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

The real deal

5 Stars
Posted Monday, February 18, 2008 by Frederic Over the years I have amassed multiple versions and extracts of Khachaturian's ballets but none that comes close to this version directed by the composer himself. The orchestral contrasts are more explosive and better exposed than in any other version, the tones and colours are gorgeous and the soft and slow movements far deeper. This re-edition in addition to be sonically splendid gives a completely different view of K's music - those are not showcase pieces for orchestras in need of thrill, they are deeply thought and masterfully orchestrated jewels. Forget Kunzel - this is the only version you'll ever need.


Kiril Kondrashin - Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante/ David & Igor Oistrakh, viola & violin Product No: ADEC 6088
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Great performance and analogue sound

5 Stars
Posted Friday, January 25, 2008 by dbowker3D A truly stunning piece by Mozart- some of his most beautiful passages, which BTW heavily influenced acclaimed film music composer Michael Nyman (Drowning by Numbers, The Piano, etc.). Sonically rich with great sound stage and natural timbre.


Pierino Gamba - Bizet-Sarasate: Carmen Fantaisie Op.25/ Ruggiero Ricci, violin Product No: ADEC 2197
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Stunning

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 5, 2007 by Rick This LP has stunning sound and the music is excellent. Don't pass it up you will regret it if it goes out of print. +++++


Clifford Curzon - A Liszt Recital Product No: ADEC 6076
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

sorry guys : wrong speed

1 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 12, 2007 by Anonymous amazing : the speed is simply incorrect, so the piano sounds peculiar, atmosphere is lost, tell them to redo the work properly, it is too bad such a good name made such a mistake !


Peter Maag - Mozart: Clarinet Concertos Product No: ADEC 2238
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

summer evening music

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 5, 2007 by Sean Sweet dynamics, especially the clarinet. Great to listen with the windows open outside on a slow summer evening.


Georg Solti - Mahler: Symphony No. 1 Product No: ADEC 6113
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Decca)

Fantabulous

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 10, 2007 by Toe I'm not very good at reviewing. I actually have never done so before...but I had to say a few words. Let us not call this a review, let me just call it my thoughts on the matter. WOW, fantastic sound, great engineering, fantastic dynamics, and superb conducting (with this I include the orchestra's playing as well. I feel the best players follow the most famous conductors, so they go hand in hand...I think). Some of Solti's other renderings have left me wanting. For instance Beethoven's ninth with Solti...That record seemed like the orchestra had a cold...does this make sense? Solti seemed timid...Oh well, not so with this disk of Mahler's first...wow, bam! boom!..exciting and emotional...this record takes me places on its sound quality alone. Oh by the way Mahler's first is incredibly brilliant...a true masterpiece in my humble opinion.

Toe

PS If you're not playing vinyl, you're just playing.



Viewing 1 - 20 of 26 Products