Found 14 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Deutsche Grammophon

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products
Anne-Sophie Mutter - Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto In E Minor Product No: ADGR 479220
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

A nostalgic look back at early 80s digital

4 Stars
Posted Friday, August 11, 2017 by Jonathan I bought this album on analogue cassette as a violin student back in the early 80s when it first came out. Over the next year I wore that cassette out on my Walkman. When I knew it was being reissued on LP I jumped at the chance to reacquaint myself with it, with the added bonus that with the large LP cover, I could finally discern the fine stitching on Mutter's dubiously coloured sweater! Time has not tarnished my opinion of the technically flawless performances which are very conservative both musically and in terms of tempi. At age 18, Mutter's mature musical personally was yet to emerge and thus there is a very distinctive difference in style between these performances and those of later years. The sound does suffer from its 16 bit origins and this is more noticeable in the Bruch than the Mendelssohn, though Gunter Hermanns did as good as job as anyone back in this early digital era. The sound is thus very good for early digital and certainly better than the old analogue cassette!


Berliner Philharmoniker - Beethoven: Symphony No.9, Overtures Product No: XUNI953487F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Great

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 11, 2017 by Anonymous Wow this recording really amazes me. The conducting is superb but the sound quality is surprising considering the age of the recording, very nice surprise!


Krystian Zimerman - Chopin: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: ADGR 4796871
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Superb - DG at its very best

5 Stars
Posted Friday, March 10, 2017 by Jonathan DG's vinyl reissues of older recordings over the last couple of years have been of a uniformly high calibre, but this one takes things to a new level in the value of money stakes if nothing else. This is a beautifully presented gatefold double LP consisting of both Chopin piano concertos, exceeding 80 minutes of playing time. The late 1990s digital recording is truly excellent and ought to please even the most fastidious "analogphiles" - a testament to what digital recording was capable of even 18 years ago so long as you had a world-class classical engineer at the helm (Rainer Maillard). The performances are superb with the orchestra at the time specially chosen for the occasion by way of individual auditions of the players - all of them very high calibre musicians.

At just under $35 for this title, acquisition of this title should be a no-brainer for any classical vinyl collector and most particularly if you do not already possess performances of these works.


Ferenc Fricsay - Mozart: Serenade In G, K.525 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik' / Beethoven: Music To Goethe's Tragedy 'Egmont', Op.84 / Smetana: The Moldau, JB 1:112 / Liszt: Les Preludes,S.97 Product No: ADGR 85101
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Another brilliant hi-res sourced LP

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, June 4, 2016 by Jonathan DG ought to be applauded for their commitment to vinyl reissues. I have never failed to be highly impressed with any of these reissues and the sound, even though they are sourced from 24 bit, 96 kHz masters (in turn created from the original analogue tapes), is always superb - far better than when these were re-issued onto CD. The pressing are also of an uniformly high standard - equal to be very best.

Although this particular re-issue reveals an odd inconsistent left / right balance / panning problem in the Egmont at the end of side 1 (also audible in the accompanying digital download), it is not too much of a distraction from what is an extremely entertaining near-hour of eclectic music-making.

I can only hope that these "budget-priced" (in relative terms) titles continue to sell well because of all the modern classical vinyl reissues available these days, these count as the best on a per-dollar basis - not only as regards the sound but obviously also the legendary performances


Carlos Kleiber - Brahms: Symphony No. 4 In E Minor, Op. 98 Product No: ADGR 31911
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Great Performance,not so great reissue

2 Stars
Posted Saturday, November 28, 2015 by Anonymous Congested and two dimensional like many 1981 digital recordings.Can't believe I'm saying this but I wish I had spent the money on the CD


Berliner Philharmoniker - Mahler: Symphony No.5 In C Sharp Minor Product No: XUNI48810F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

What?????

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, May 9, 2015 by Anonymous This is so common at similar sites.....is this from live 2002? Or is it the Karajan recording from the 70s, as is shown? You guys don't know how much difference this makes to a classical musician. It's a real turn off. By the way the Karajan recording is pretty pale, within the context of a great orchestra, etc. Why didn't Karajan record Mahler until so late in his life when he literally had to? We all know that answer. Her should have left it alone. Hill Herbert


Various Artists - The Originals: Legendary Recordings From The Deutsche Grammophon Catalogue Product No: ADGR 93760
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Outstanding sound!

5 Stars
Posted Saturday, April 4, 2015 by Alan Lawrence I was a bit hesitant to buy this set given the age of the recordings, but wow. I just listened to R. Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra and was blown away. I've never heard it this way. Gorgeous performance and the sound is fantastic. Nice, quiet pressing, too.


Grigory Sokolov - The Salzburg Recital Product No: ADGR 943907
Available: BackOrdered
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

A GREAT RECORDING THAT WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, February 12, 2015 by DR JOHN DANIELS This recording has received numerous accolades and I would not be surprised if there are many more. I doubt that there will be a better classical release this year. This is pianism of pure genius, the kind that stands alongside Richter, Gilels, Rubinstein, Cortot, Gould, Sofronitsky and Lipatti. His Mozart is a real revelation. With incomparable ease, he conquers the obvious difficulties and those beneath the surface. So few can do that. In making that comment, I do not mean to downplay the rest of what is a spelling binding performance. The recording quality is outstanding and captures the beautiful tone of Sokolov's instrument which sounds like a pre 50's Steinway but may be a more modern keyboard. The vinyl is clearly of high quality and has very quiet backgrounds. There is none of the treble tizz that used to be an issue with DGG.

Classic records do not come along very often. This is one, there are likely to be many re-issues over the years.


Los Angeles Philharmonic - Bartok: Concerto For Orchestra (Live) Product No: XUNI43754F96
Available: InStock
Category: FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Problematic

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, December 16, 2014 by Anonymous I like the performance, it carefully follows score. Interesting. But the recording is somewhat dull, making this overall a disappointment.


Esa-Pekka Salonen - La Sacre Du Printemps Product No: CDGJ 9004 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Erratum :...,

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, November 2, 2014 by Barleyps ...In french sacre is masculin. So the exact title is Le sacre du Printemps. Includes Night on bald mountain/Mussorgsky&The miraculous mandarin/Bartók. Watch out the percussions' quality/ fidelity here !


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGJ 9006 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

2 Stars
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014 by Anonymous


Martha Argerich - Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 - Ravel: Piano Concerto Product No: CDGJ 9025 SA
Available: InStock
Category: SHM Single Layer SACDs
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Friday, August 9, 2013 by Anonymous Outstanding, my 5 year old son even gets entranced.


Kleiber/Vienna Philharmonic Orch. - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 5 & 7 Product No: CDGR 471630 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

One of the great discs.A must have!

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 21, 2006 by Anonymous It is really amazing how 30 year old recordings are brought to life on SACD. This wonderful performance just lights up in the SACD format. Do yourself a favor and get this one!


Anne-Sophie Mutter - Bizet: Carmen Fantasie Product No: CDGR 4775721 SA
Available: BackOrdered
Category: Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Unique interpretations of old chestnuts

5 Stars
Posted Friday, October 21, 2005 by Allan Krepina While there's no quibbling about the recorded sound: rich, resonant, life-like, Mutter's interpretations are uniquely hers. Liberal use of portamento, extreme pianissimi, etc. But she can make it SO convincing--not least because she's got the technique to carry it off flawlessly. Levine and the VPO are with her every step of the way. Remarkable.



Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 Products