Frank Sinatra - In The Wee Small Hours




Easy Listening

Product No.:
ACAP 61579
UPC: 602537761579
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Frank Sinatra LPs cut for Capitol Records between 1953 and 1961 are a chronicle of singing that electrified fans.

"When he moved to Capitol in 1952, Sinatra was facing a crisis: dumped by Columbia, the swing era he was reared in already gone, his career seemed in tatters. It was "From Here to Eternity" and the advent of the long-playing record that saved him.

"In the Wee Small Hours took the daring step of running 16 slow ballads side by side, and the result was some of Sinatra's most profound and involved work. The songs were uniformly superb, and in his flawless delivery — every phrase articulated with noble precision, every legato shift and taking of breath finely judged — Sinatra paid them the highest due. When the material was as fine as Lorenz Hart's lyric for It Never Entered My Mind — "Once you told me I was mistaken / That I'd awaken with the sun / and order orange juice for one / It never entered my mind" — Sinatra told the tale with deceptive simplicity. But when it was "When Your Lover Has Gone," a whiskery jazz novelty even in 1955, he made it the loneliest prayer for comfort." — The Guardian

1. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
2. Moon Indigo
3. Glad to Be Unhappy
4. I Get Along Without You Very Well
5. Deep in a Dream
6. I See Your Face Before Me
7. Can’t We Be Friends?
8. When Your Lover Has Gone
9. What Is This Thing Called Love?
10. Last Night When We Were Young
11. I’ll Be Around
12. Ill Wind
13. It Never Entered My Mind
14. Dancing On The Ceiling
15. I’ll Never Be the Same
16. This Love of Mine

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it