Rod Stewart - Every Picture Tells A Story

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
CMEJ 9535 SA
EAN: 4988031161852
Back Ordered

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time — Rated 172/500!

Rod Stewart owned the early 1970s. When he wasn't recording great sets with the Faces, he was redefining how folk, country, and soul music could be folded under rock's umbrella. Filled with first-rate originals and terrific interpretations of classics, Every Picture Tells A Story remains Stewart's watershed moment, a brilliant synthesis of organic warmth, earthy tones, raucous romance, and loose performances.

"Without greatly altering his approach, Rod Stewart perfected his blend of hard rock, folk, and blues on his masterpiece, Every Picture Tells a Story. Marginally a harder-rocking album than Gasoline Alley — the Faces blister on the Temptations cover '(I Know I'm) Losing You,' and the acoustic title track goes into hyper-drive with Mick Waller's primitive drumming — the great triumph of Every Picture Tells a Story lies in its content. Every song on the album, whether it's a cover or original, is a gem, combining to form a romantic, earthy portrait of a young man joyously celebrating his young life. Of course, 'Maggie May' —the ornate, ringing ode about a seduction from an older woman — is the centerpiece, but each song, whether it's the devilishly witty title track or the unbearably poignant 'Mandolin Wind,' has the same appeal. And the covers, including definitive readings of Bob Dylan's 'Tomorrow Is Such a Long Time' and Tim Hardin's 'Reason to Believe,' as well as a rollicking 'That's All Right,' are equally terrific, bringing new dimension to the songs. It's a beautiful album, one that has the timeless qualities of the best folk, yet one that rocks harder than most pop music — few rock albums are quite this powerful or this rich." —

  • Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
  • Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.

SHM-SACD format is fully compatible with standard SACD players but it does not play on standard CD players. SHM-SACD delivers unbelievably high-quality sound. Japanese import.



1. Every Picture Tells A Story
2. Seems Like A Long Time
3. That’s All Light And Amazing Grace
4. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
5. Maggie Mae
6. Mandolin Wind
7. I’m Losing You
8. Reason To Believe

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 04/12/2023
5 Stars
Reviewer: joey1127
I have to agree with what the other reviewer said. This is, for me as well, the ultimate version of EPTAS. I had an original Mercury pressing and it had amazing fidelity. Over the years I've purchased a number of copies on CD, Cassette, even 8-Track, but that first pressing was the best. When I got my hands on this SACD, I was blown away. it sounded just like that original pressing I had. The Drums on I KNOW I'M LOOSING YOU seal the deal! This is a Limited Release and I'm sure it'll be gone soon, but if you can get it, it's worth the cost. One of Rod's very best records!

Every Picture Tells a Story Limited Edition, Super Audio CD - DSD, Import

posted on 10/04/2014
5 Stars
Reviewer: Mark Powers
2013 SHM SACD reissue of 1971 album is absolutely stunning. I know this disc like the back of my hand having owned every original version starting with the LP. This Japanese release is it for me and I do not feel the need to ever purchase another. Performance of Rod and gang is stellar, obviously to be #172/500 albums of all time. How this stereo recording comes to you quiet and mellow with definite heavy rock and roll punch is brilliant. No need to adjust any of my equipment just came out perfect. I absolutely love the little Japanese boxes with all the mini replica album stuff, liner notes, etc. Very interesting liner notes, including Rod saying he forgets the name of the mandolin player. I cranked very loud on "I Know I'm Losing You" best at end with drums, amazing. I couldn't be happier to own such a fine recording. This is a 176.4Khz/24 bit transferred from DSD. 2 channel stereo only. It's so great I want to keep writing but better for you to find out on your own.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.