Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings - Centennial Collection

Robert Johnson - The Complete Recordings - Centennial Collection





Product No.:
CLEG 85907
UPC: 886978590725
In Stock


No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

"Robert Johnson was like an orchestra all by himself. Some of his best stuff is almost Bach-like in construction ... a brilliant burst of inspiraton." — Rolling Stones' guitarist Keith Richards

May 8, 2011, marked the 100th birthday of Mississippi Delta bluesman Robert Johnson, who, according to legend, sold his soul down at the crossroads of Highway 61 and Highway 49 in a midnight bargain that has haunted the music world for three-quarters of a century. The ‘deal' brought forth Johnson's incandescent guitar technique and a run of 10-inch 78 RPM singles for the Vocalion, Oriole, Conqueror and Perfect labels recorded in San Antonio in 1936 and Dallas in 1937. Those songs have become a cornerstone of Columbia Records' identity, and they're celebrated on commemorative Centennial releases from Columbia/Legacy.

Over the years, Johnson's influence has resounded in the music of Muddy Waters ("32-20 Blues"), Elmore James ("I Believe I'll Dust My Broom"), Junior Parker ("Sweet Home Chicago"), John Hammond Jr. ("Milk Cow's Calf Blues"), the Rolling Stones ("Love In Vain," "Stop Breakin' Down Blues"), John Mayall ("Ramblin' On My Mind"), Cream ("From Four Until Late"), Eric Clapton ("Cross Road Blues"), Johnny Winter ("When You Got a Good Friend"), and others. It is by far the most empowering body of work in American history to emerge from one solitary blues figure.

On the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Robert Johnson's birth, Columbia/Legacy pays homage to his spirit with stand-alone vinyl, CD and DVD components, including this updated two-CD set of the Grammy winning The Complete Recordings. All 42 known recordings of Johnson's music are here, exquisitely remastered.


1. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
2. I Believe I'll Dust My Broom
3. Sweet Home Chicago
4. Ramblin' On My Mind
5. When You Got A Good Friend
6. Come On In My Kitchen
7. Terraplane Blues
8. Phonograph Blues
9. 32-20 Blues
10. They're Red Hot
11. Dead Shrimp Blues
12. Cross Road Blues
13. Walkin' Blues
14. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
15. Preachin' Blues (Up Jumped The Devil)
16. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
17. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
18. Ramblin' On My Mind
19. When You Got A Good Friend
20. Come On In My Kitchen
21. Phonograph Blues
22. Cross Road Blues
23. Stones In My Passway
24. Steady Rollin' Man
25. From Four Until Late
26. Hell Hound On My Trail
27. Little Queen Of Spades
28. Malted Milk
29. Drunken Hearted Man
30. Me And The Devil Blues
31. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
32. Traveling Riverside Blues
33. Honeymoon Blues
34. Love In Vain Blues
35. Milkcow's Calf Blues
36. Little Queen Of Spades
37. Drunken Hearted Man
38. Me And The Devil Blues
39. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
40. Traveling Riverside Blues
41. Love In Vain Blues
42. Milkcow's Calf Blues

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it