John Lee Hooker - That's My Story





Product No.:
AFAN 538
UPC: 025218053815
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Recorded in February 1960 with Sam Jones and Louis Hayes.

“Hooker’s earliest Riverside albums presented him playing solo acoustic guitar, in a conscious effort to direct his work to listeners outside the R&B audience. Opinions differ on the matter, but this outing is more interesting than his solo acoustic Riverside records, due to the presence of a supporting rhythm section on most of the tracks. The liner notes (in the fashion of the day) are almost apologetic about this, emphasizing that it’s not to create R&B rhythms, but “to free Hooker from the burden of carrying the full rhythm load.” To make matters more palatable for the purists, maybe that’s why a couple of jazz players were chosen for the job (bassist Sam Jones and drummer Louis Hayes, who formed the rhythm section for Cannonball Adderley at the time). What’s important is not how pure the music is, but that it’s a decent album, striking a good midpoint between his acoustic and electric sound.” — All Music Guide 

1. I Need Some Money
2. Come On and See About Me
3. I'm Wanderin'
4. Democrat Man
5. I Want To Talk About You
6. Gonna Use My Rod
7. Wednesday Evening Blues
8. No More Doggin'
9. One Of These Days
10. I Believe I'll Go Back Home
11. You're Leavin' Me, Baby
12. That's My Story

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it