Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Galaxie 500 - On Fire

Galaxie 500 - On Fire





Product No.:
UPC: 600197100912
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Galaxie 500 began to play beyond the Boston limits and their stock rose, especially in the UK where Today was received enthusiastically. In the summer of 1989, the band re-entered Kramer's studio to record their second album, On Fire, and its companion EP, the UK-only release Blue Thunder, both for Rough Trade. The critical acclaim for these recordings was deafening. Sounds described the album as "utter magnificence," Melody Maker called it "a stunning collection of daydream pop," even Rolling Stone gave it 3 ½ stars. The world was beating its head on Galaxie's door; the Of Fire/Blue Thunder pairing expanded effortlessly on the band's exquisite base. The plaintive threads of the Galaxie 500 sound had been pulled tighter by the technical proficiency that have enveloped these ex-amateurs, and unlike so many others, technique had sharpened their instincts rather than masked them. Playing with flash is superfluous, when you have the moxie to cover Red Crayola's "Victory Garden" and Joy Division's "Ceremony," making both of them over in your own image.

1. Blue Thunder
2. Tell Me
3. Snowstorm
4. Strange
5. When Will You Come Home
6. Decomposing Trees
7. Another Day
8. Leave The Planet
9. Plastic Bird
10. Isn't It A Pity

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it