Alejandro Escovedo - Real Animal


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 82411
UPC: 094638241119
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl LP with Damaged Cover

"…A triumphant follow-up to 2006's The Boxing Mirror, Real Animal doubles as the singer-songwriter's autobiography. And what a rock n' roll story it makes…Sonics are warm and vibrant, spotlighting how small accents – a decaying chord, a sawed violin – blend into and advance narratives on every arrangement." The Absolute Sound's Recording of the Month – Bob Gendron, The Absolute Sound, August 2008

Now, his latest album, Real Animal, finds Escovedo looking back to those years when his musical personality was still being shaped by punk, glam, garage rock, Mott the Hoople, the Faces and the Velvet Underground. Produced by Tony Visconti (David Bowie, T. Rex, Thin Lizzy), Real Animal is a collective journey through Escovedo's various musical incarnations from punk rock to string quintets and is as introspective as it is retrospective. Escovedo wrote the album in collaboration with Chuck Prophet, formerly of the California band Green On Red, who toured the same circuit as Escovedo's groups in the '80s. The pair set out to tell Escovedo's story as a kid who grew up in a musical family, yet was something of an outcast because he didn't gravitate toward more traditional Latin music. "I wanted to tell what it felt like to be a young Chicano in the early '60s, late '50s in California, but feeling even more alienated because I loved English rock 'n' roll as much as I loved garage rock," he says. "If you're going to write the story of that period of time," Escovedo says, "you better have the right kind of music to back it up."

1. Always a Friend
2. Chelsea Hotel '78
3. Sister Lost Soul
4. Smoke
5. Sensitive Boys
6. People (We're Only Gonna Live So Long)
7. Golden Bear
8. Nuns Song
9. Real as an Animal
10. Hollywood Hills
11. Swallows of San Juan
12. Chip 'N' Tony
13. Slow Down
14. Falling in Love Again
15. I Got a Right

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it