Little Hatch - Rock With Me Baby

 (Ultra Tape)


APO Records



Product No.:
RRAP 0033
In Stock

1/4 Inch - 15 IPS Tape

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record


Analogue Productions Ultra Tape reel-to-reel reissues!

15 ips, ¼-inch 2-track (½ track) analog tape copy

Transferred directly from the original analog master session tape

Tape transferred using ATR-modified Ampex Tape Machine with flux magnetic heads

Custom slipcase cover - highest quality tape reissue!

From Acoustic Sounds, Inc., the world leader in audiophile music sales, the Analogue Productions Ultra Tape Reel-To-Reel Reissue Series continues!

This title was recorded at Blue Heaven Studios in Salina, Kansas — our in-house recording studio here at Acoustic Sounds, for our APO (Analogue Productions Originals) label. Each Ultra Tape is a 15 ips, ¼-inch analog tape transferred directly from the original master session tape, no mastering. Transferred real-time, using an ATR-modified Ampex Tape Machine with flux magnetic heads, by Matthew Luthans at Blue Heaven Studios. Custom slipcase cover.

Rock With Me Baby is the comforting addition to this awesome, down-home blues artist's sparsely-documented career. A fire that cannot be faked or accurately imitated fuels each note and puts this title in perfect fit with APO Records' mission of finding "the real blues." Deceased at 81 years old, Little Hatch is a little-known legend; little-known, that is, outside of Kansas City, where his birthday was long ago declared "Little Hatch Day" and where harp up-and-comers actively pay homage to the master.

Little Hatch, born Provine Hatch, Jr. in 1922 in Sledge, Mississippi, began blowing the harp obsessively at 8 years old and came under the direct spell of Sonny Boy Williamson II and Howlin' Wolf when his family moved to Helena, Arkansas in 1935. Sonny Boy became Hatch's hero, and from there, another sure-fire bluesman was born. Rock With Me Baby oozes with blues purity and recalls the gritty roots of a time before blues needed polish to shine. If Hatch's harp is technically imperfect, his soulful voice is unmatched. Fans of the real thing will drool, and rockers may at least understand blues heritage through this release.

Jimmy D. Lane and Ron Edwards accompany Hatch on guitars. The trio lays down 12 tracks of exquisite traditional blues that's a treat to both ears and soul. Lane is of course son of blues legend Jimmy Rogers, and a damn fine bluesman in his own right with three great releases on the APO label. Edwards has been playing sweet-sounding slide guitar for more than 50 years, having been tutored by such slide luminaries as Houston Stackhouse and J.B. Hutto. He was a longtime accompanist to the late St. Louis bluesman and APO recording artist Henry Townsend.


Reel 1
1. Rock With Me Baby
2. I Believe I'll Go Back Home
3. Driving Wheel
4. Union Hall
5. Next Time You See Me
6. Hold That Train, Conductor
Reel 2
1. Baby Please Don't Go
2. Sweet Little Angel
3. Help Me
4. Mellow Down Easy
5. Everything's Gonna Be Alright
6. That's Alright
7. Country Blues

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it