Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis - Cookin' With Jaws And The Queen: The Legendary Prestige Cookbook Albums


Concord Craft Recordings



Product No.:
UPC: 888072423879
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 4
Note: 180 Gram


or Add to Wishlist


180-gram 4LP collection

Celebrating the 100th anniversary of Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis!

Cookin' with Jaws and the Queen: The Legendary Prestige Cookbook Albums compiles four classic soul-jazz albums featuring the tenor saxophonist's 1958 Cookbook albums with organist Shirley Scott

Includes Cookbook, Vol. 1, Cookbook, Vol. 2, Cookbook, Vol. 3, and Smokin', all of which were recorded in stereo by the celebrated engineer, Rudy Van Gelder!

Newly remastered from the original analog tapes by Grammy-winning engineer Bernie Grundman

4LP edition limited to 5,000 copies worldwide!

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI

Individually housed in tip-on jackets, featuring the original Prestige Records album artwork

When tenor saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and Hammond B-3 organist Shirley Scott entered recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder's hallowed Hackensack, NJ studio in 1958, it was clear that something special was about to take place. For roughly three years, Scott and Davis had been at the forefront of the soul-jazz sound, setting the gold standard for the tenor sax/organ combo.

Davis and Scott certainly did have plenty to accomplish, following these phenomenal sessions. The two musicians would continue to collaborate through the end of the decade, recording such albums as Jaws in Orbit and Bacalao (both released in 1959), as well as Misty (1963).

Craft Recordings is set to celebrate the centennial of Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis with this brand-new, 4LP collection, featuring the tenor saxophonist's celebrated 1958 Cookbook albums with organist Scott.

Cookin' with Jaws and the Queen has been newly remastered from the original analog tapes by the Grammy-winning engineer, Bernie Grundman. Produced by Nick Phillips, the all-analog 4LP edition (limited to 5,000 copies worldwide) is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI, while each LP is individually housed in a tip-on jacket, featuring the original Prestige Records album artwork.

This new album reissue package also features new liner notes by journalist Willard Jenkins.

Side A
1. Have Horn, Will Blow
2. The Chef
3. But Beautiful

Side B
1. In The Kitchen
2. Three Deuces

Side C
1. The Rev
2. Stardust

Side D
1. Skillet
2. I Surrender, Dear
3. The Broilers

Side E
1. I'm Just A Lucky So And So
2. Heat 'N Serve
3. My Old Flame

Side F
1. The Goose Hangs High
2. Simmerin'
3. Strike Up The Band

Side G
1. High Fry
2. Smoke This
3. Pennies From Heaven

Side H
1. Pots And Pans
2. Jaws
3. It's A Blue World
4. Blue Lou

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it