Danny Elfman - Bigger. Messier.

 (Limited Edition Color Vinyl)





Product No.:
AANT 87893
UPC: 045778789313
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist


Double LP

Remixed and reimagined tracks from Danny Elfman's Big Mess solo album

After his triumphant performances at the 2022 Coachella Music and Arts Festival, Danny Elfman returns with Bigger. Messier., an ambitious double album collection of remixed and reimagined tracks from his highly acclaimed Big Mess album. This sprawling, 23-track collection on 2LP features tracks reworked by some of the most groundbreaking and subversive artists around today.

Bigger.Messier. views the Grammy and Emmy Award-winning composer's songs through the lens of luminaries from diverse sides of the music business, including Trent Reznor, Iggy Pop, Squarepusher, and Ghostemane. On Big Mess,  Elfman once again has achieved a kind of artistic liberation on the record that had been eluding him for decades, and connecting him to brand new audience. Born and raised in southern California, Elfman began his career aspart of a surrealist, avant-garde musical theater troupe known as The Mystic Knights of Oingo Boingo. The group would eventually morph into the critically-acclaimed rock band Oingo Boingo, whose high-energy performances and genre-bending sound garnered them a fanatically devoted cult following in the 1980s and '90s.

Among the group's early fans was fledgling director Tim Burton and Paul Reubens (aka Pee-wee Herman), who enlisted Elfman to score their first feature film, Pee-wee's Big Adventure. The collaboration would prove to be the start of a long and fruitful partnership for Elfman and Burton, with Elfman going on to score a string of iconic Burton features such as Batman, Beetlejuice, Big Fish, Edward Scissorhands, and The Nightmare Before Christmas. To date, Elfman has scored more than 100 films.

“As an artist, I find that I have to keep challenging myself with new things,” says Elfman. “I have to keep moving, to keep pushing myself out of my comfort zone.”

LP 1
1. We Belong (Squarepusher Remix)
2. Happy (Little Snake Dying in the Club Edition)
3. Happy (33Emybw Remix)
4. Sorry (Kid606 Remix)
5. We Belong (Rafiq Bhatia Remix)
6. Kick Me (Zach Hill Remix)
7. Insects (Machine Girl Insecticidal Tendencies Remix)
8. Serious Ground (Xiu Xiu Remix)
9. Cruel Compensation (The Locust Remix)
10. Everybody Loves You (Boris Remix)

LP 2
1. True - feat. Trent Reznor
2. In Time - feat. Blixa Bargeld
3. In Time (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix)
4. Native Intelligence - feat. Trent Reznor
5. Kick Me - feat. Iggy Pop
6. Kick Me - feat. Fever333
7. In Time (Health Remix)
8. Native Intelligence - feat. Trent Reznor - Ghostemane Natural Selection Remix
9. Happy (Boy Harsher Remix)
10. True - feat. Trent Reznor - Stu Brooks Remix
11. Happy (Little Snake Lunar Climax Edition)
12. Serious Dub (Scientist Remix) (Digital Bonus Track)
13. Happy (A. Fruit Remix) (Digital Bonus Track)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it