Grant-Lee Phillips - All That You Can Dream

 (+ Postcard)


Yep Roc Records



Product No.:
AYEP 3024
UPC: 634457068834
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

2022 solo album from singer and actor Grant-Lee Philips

Vinyl LP includes a limited edition postcard designed by Philips

Includes a stellar cast of backing musicians includes Jay Bellerose (Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss), Jennifer Condos (Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Nicks), and Eric Heywood (Son Volt, The Jayhawks)

When you're a musician used to a certain creative groove, it's disorienting to have that rhythm disrupted. Like many musicians, Grant Lee Phillips sought out silver linings wherever he could find them once COVID-19 hit. But in early 2021, when Phillips realized any potential touring options were still on hold for the foreseeable future, he started to write and record a new solo album at home.

"I found respite in the process when I could do little else," he says. "It became a sort of meditation on this time in my life and the events that we've collectively experienced."

The resulting full-length, All That You Can Dream, is understandably introspective, as it's anchored by Phillips' empathetic voice and rich acoustic guitar. The album's lyrics attempt to make sense of an uncertain, anxiety-riddled time, while coming to terms with the idea that once-unshakeable things now seem fragile or fallible.

"In terms of subject matter, I found that the circumstances of being off the road, and left to reflect on what this time feels like, produced a different kind of song," Phillips says. "I wasn't entirely certain-and to be honest, I'm still not altogether certain-when I get to take these songs on the road. In some ways, that freed me up to write and record the kind of song that was personal and executed as though it were for an audience of myself alone. That's freeing."

1. A Sudden Place
2. Cruel Trick
3. Peace Is a Delicate Thing
4. All That You Can Dream
5. Rats in a Barrel
6. Cannot Trust the Ground
7. Cut to the Ending
8. You Can’t Hide
9. My Eyes Have Seen
10. Remember This
11. All by Heart

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it