Leonard Bernstein - Mahler: Symphony No. 9


Deutsche Grammophon



Product No.:
ADGR 4860964
UPC: 028948609642
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Box Sets

Double LP

This live recording documents Bernstein's only encounter with the Berlin Philharmonic, but its special significance doesn't stop there. The orchestra's music director at the time, Herbert von Karajan, was recording Mahler symphonies selectively and, after Bernstein's departure, decided to record the Ninth, taking advantage of his American counterpart's having taught the piece to his orchestra.

Of course, Bernstein's interpretation is different from that of Karajan, with its emotionalism and feeling for the Jewish ethnic music that underlies Mahler's dance rhythms. It's also a leaner interpretation than the one heard from Bernstein's encounters with the Vienna Philharmonic. There's a special tension here that issues from two different musical entities — Bernstein and the orchestra — working hard to find a common ground.

Side A
1. Andante comodo
2. Etwas frischer
3. Tempo I. subito
4. Leidenschaftlich
5. Without indication - Bar 242
6. Bewegter
7. Without indication - Bar 317
8. Wie von Anfang
9. Ploetzlich bedeutend langsamer (Lento) und leise

Side B
1. Im Tempo eines gemaechlichen Laendlers.Etwas taeppisch und sehr derb
2. Poco più mosso subito (Tempo II)
3. Tempo III
4. A tempo II
5. Tempo III
6. Tempo I
7. Tempo II
8. Tempo I. Subito

Side C
1. Rondo-Burleske. Allegro assai. Sehr trotzig.
2. L'istesso tempo
3. Sempre l'istesso tempo
4. L'istesso tempo
5. Without indication - Bar 347
6. Without indication - Bar 444
7. Tempo I subito
8. Più stretto

Side D
1. Adagio. Sehr langsam und noch zurueckhaltend
2. Ploetzlich wieder sehr langsam (wie zu Anfang) und etwas zoegernd
3. Molto adagio subito
4. A tempo. Molto adagio
5. Stets sehr gehalten
6. Fliessender, doch durchaus nicht eilend
7. Tempo I. Molto adagio
8. Adagissimo

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it