Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Various Artists - Newvelle Season 5 Box Set

 (Clear Vinyl)


Newvelle Records



Product No.:
EAN: 3770007633033

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 6
Note: 180 Gram


Stereophile Editor's Pick Recording Of The Month!

Limited edition Newvelle Records Season Five 2020 vinyl box set

Six 180-gram LPs on clear vinyl featuring never-before-heard music!

Recorded in New York by Marc Urselli, mastered by Alex DeTurk

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

"If Newvelle Records is any indication, jazz's future looks bright. Since 2015, the New York label has produced four series of artist-curated, all-analog, subscription-only box sets of vinyl records with superb fidelity and top-tier musicians performing original material. ... Newvelle Records Season Five is an unqualified success. $400 for a box set that may become a collector's item, featuring remarkable musicians and brilliant performances, recorded and pressed to the highest standards, should be an easy purchase for fans of soulful, swinging, captivating jazz." — Performance = 4/5; Sonics = 4.5/5 — Ken Micallef, Stereophile, Editor's Pick Recording Of The Month, February 2021

From jazz label Newvelle Records, Newvelle Season Five features six 180-gram LPs featuring never-before-heard music from some of the most celebrated musicians working in the genre today! All six records are recorded and mixed at East Side Sound in New York by Marc Urselli and mastered by Alex DeTurk. The vinyl is pressed at the world-renowned Quality Record Pressings.

What makes Newvelle so special that discerning audiophiles would want to invest $400 without having a chance to preview these releases? The easy answer is that Newvelle LPs sound absolutely spectacular in every way. Here's their mission statement.

"We set out to build a series of records, of all new music, that cut no corners sonically or artistically. Each year Newvelle records and releases six records, exclusively on vinyl and with curated artwork and literature. We built a model that treats musicians right and uses the full available canvas of vinyl to make something unique and beautiful."

Marc Phillips, writing for part-time audiophile, reviewing Andy Zimmerman's Half Light from Newvelle for Positive Feedback wrote: " all comes down to your dedication to the vinyl medium or your love of jazz. I'm not being hyperbolic by stating that this is the type of LP I would play at trade shows, along with all my original Three Blind Mice LPs and UHQRs and other unicorns, to get people into the room and ask 'What is this? It sounds terrific!'"

So who is Newvelle serving up this season, in this special box set package? We'll tell you.

Season Five Artists:

Rufus Reid and Sullivan Fortner: Jazz great Rufus Reid returns to Newvelle to record a third time. This time bringing with him rising superstar Sullivan Fortner. This is an intimate and profound glimpse of these two masters at work.

Pablo Ablanedo Octet: Featuring an absolutely stellar line up of musicians, this record is a re-union of a group that Pablo led in 2001. Featuring: Anat Cohen, Jenny Scheinman, Chris Cheek, Jerome Sabbagh, Diego Urcola, Ben Monder, Fernando Huergo, Franco Pinna and Daniel Ian Smith.

Dave Douglas and Elan Mehler: Dave Douglas is arguably the most prolific and celebrated jazz musician working today. On this record Dave and label head Elan Mehler split compositional duties on works based on poetry and haikus. Featuring the stellar singer Dominique Eade, with John Gunther, Simón Willson and Dayeon Seok.

Carmen Staaf: Current critical darling Carmen Staaf brings her elite trio featuring Michael Formanek and Jeff Williams in for a breathtaking record of originals and standards.

Patrick Zimmerli: Genius composer and multi-reedist Patrick Zimmerli brought a unique band to record a selection of new compositions. Featuring Newvelle favorite Kevin Hays on piano and Satoshi Takeishi on drums.

OWL Trio with Kurt Elling: The working unit the OWL trio features the unique voices of Will Vinson on saxophones, Lage Lund on guitar and Orlando Le Fleming on bass. Featuring the massively acclaimed and lauded vocalist Kurt Elling, singing original works by the band.





Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it