Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Tower Of Power - Step Up

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AATY 7067
UPC: 181475706717
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist


Tower of Power launches into new decade with Step Up

Gatefold double LP

Follow-up to the Billboard No. 1 album Soul Side of Town

Limited time album download included

"We knew when we went into the studio, we were going to make the best record that we could make — the best album of our career. And we did. We took it to another level." — Emilio Castillo

After celebrating their 50th Anniversary with the critically acclaimed 2018 release of Soul Side of Town, Tower of Power stirs it up for the launch of their next album — Step Up.

Although the 14 tracks of this album were written and arranged in a careful six-year-long process, the album itself was recorded in the same sessions with Soul Side of Town. When the band, along with Grammy-nominated producer Joe Vannelli, recorded enough great material for two full albums, they decided to split the releases up and keep Step Up as their launch into the new decade. The record features heartfelt lyrics from Stephen "Doc" Kupka. Now, with clever lyrics, funky arrangements, and tremendous musicality, Tower of Power step up their game with Step Up.

As the first single from the record, and the album's title track, "Step Up" is an instant groove full of Tower of Power's signature funky and rhythmical sound: melodic lines flawlessly and soulfully executed by the horn section, notable guitar grooves laid down by Jerry Cortez, and topped off with a killer B3 solo by Roger Smith. The track's empowering lyrics and motivational message cannot be ignored, and string together the song's overall vibe for a feel-good track.

Step Up gives us a taste that fulfills the band's promise of an album that will "move you physically and emotionally," as predicted by bandleader and founder Emilio Castillo himself. The single "Step Up" out today, January 24, 2020 whets fans' appetites just enough in anticipation of the full album's release on March 20, 2020.



Side 1
1. East Bay! All the Way!
2. Step Up
3. The Story of You and I
4. Who Would Have Thought?

Side 2
5. Addicted to You
6. Look in My Eyes
7. You Da One

Side 3
8. Sleeping With You Baby
9. If It's Tea Give Me Coffee
10. Beyond My Wildest Dreams

Side 4
11. Any Excuse Will Do
12. If You Wanna Be a Winner
13. Let's Celebrate Our Love
14. East Bay! Oaktown All the Way!

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it