The Weavers - Traveling On

The Weavers - Traveling On


Cisco (Vanguard Records)



Product No.:
AVAN 2022
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

Prior to the folk revolution of the early ‘60s, when soloists like Joan Baez and Bob Dylan ruled, folk songs were largely performed by groups. The Weavers were the most famous of these vocal groups. The original quartet of Ronnie Gilbert, Fred Hellerman, Lee Hays and Pete Seeger formed in 1947. A successful career with Decca soon followed. The group was forced to disband after being blacklisted but came together again in 1955. Travelling On, their fourth Vanguard album, displays The Weavers’ amazing versatility with elements of folk, blues, country, sea shanties, spirituals and traditional children’s songs in 16 amazing tunes. The sound is a revelation. Mastered at AcousTech from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray and pressed at RTI, Travelling On sounds more like a live concert than a studio album.

Side One
1. Twelve Gates to the City
2. Erie Canal
3. I Never Will Marry
4. Old Riley
5. Sinner Man
6. House of the Rising Sun
7. The Keeper
8. You Made Me a Pallet on the Floor

Side Two
1. Mi Cabello
2. Kumbaya
3. Hopsha-Dri
4. Si Mi Quieres
5. State of Arkansas
6. Greenland Whale Fisheries
7. Eddystone Light
8. Gotta Travel On

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it