Various Artists - Impressions: The Sound of Debussy


Warner Classics



Product No.:
AWCL 567205
UPC: 190295707477
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

"Music would take over at the point at which words become powerless, with the one and only object of expressing that which nothing but music could express... I love music passionately. And because I love it I try to free it from barren traditions that stifle it... There is no theory. You only have to listen. Pleasure is the law." — Claude Debussy

This LP  gathers together some of Debussy's best-loved masterpieces. All the works included in the set are performed by top-class musicians: Pierre-Laurent Aimard · Michel Béroff · Renaud Capuçon · Philippe Cassard · Bertrand Chamayou · Aldo Ciccolini · André Cluytens · Michel Debost · Claude Debussy · Natalie Dessay · Yuri Egorov · Samson François · Carlo Maria Giulini · Lily Laskine and others.

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Side A:
1. Suite bergamasque, L 82 (1890, rev. 1905): III. Clair de lune
2. Arabesques, L 74 (1890-91): I.
3. Pour le piano, L 95 (1901): III. Toccata
Preludes (First Book), L 125 (1909-10)
4. VI. (... des pas sur la neige)
5. VIII. (... la fille aux cheveux de lin)
6. Children's Corner, L 119a: VI. Golliwogg's cake-walk (1908)
7. Estampes, L 108a (1903): II. La Soiree dans Grenade
Side B:
1. Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune, for orchestra, L 87a (1892-94)
2. Petite suite, L 71b (1888-89, orchestration Henri Busser 1907): I. En bateau
3. Nocturnes, triptyque symphonique, for orchestra and female choir, L 98a (1897-99): Fetes (Anime et tres rythme - Modere mais toujours tres rythme)
4. La Mer, trois esquisses symphoniques, for orchestra, L 111a (1903-05): II. Jeux de vagues (Allegro, dans un rythme tres souple)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it