Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Jacqueline Du Pre - 5 Legendary Recordings


Warner Classics



Product No.:
AWCL 565178
UPC: 190295754747
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets


or Add to Wishlist

Five legendary recordings on LP - masterworks for cello and orchestra!

"She clearly was born to play the cello," wrote the New York Times of Jacqueline du Pré in 1967. Just five years later her career was cut tragically short by illness. Providing a treasurable memento of her art, this is a newly-assembled 5LP collection of masterworks for cello and orchestra from three centuries. It includes the Elgar Concerto, so closely associated with du Pré, and a 1968 recording of Strauss'sDon Quixotewhich, after a complex genesis, was not released until 1995, the height of the CD era.

Now, it makes its first appearance on LP. In each work, the cellist provides evidence of what her teacher, William Pleeth, described as the "perfect balance of youth and maturity."

LP 1
1. Edward Elgar - Cello Concerto In E Minor, Op. 85
2. Edward Elgar - Sea Pictures, Op. 37

LP 2
1. Joseph Haydn - Cello Concerto No. 1 In C Major, Hob. Viib:1
2. Luigi Boccherini - Cello Concerto In B-flat Major (Arr. Grutzmacher)

LP 3
1. Robert Schumann - Cello Concerto In A Minor, Op. 129
2. Camille Saint-saëns - Cello Concerto No. 1 In A Minor, Op. 33

LP 4
1. Richard Strauss - Don Quixote, Fantastic Variations On A Theme Of Knightly Character For Cello, Viola & Orchestra, Op.35

LP 5
1. Antonín Dvorak - Cello Concerto In B Minor, Op. 104, B.191
2. Antonín Dvorak - Silent Woods, Op.68, B.182

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it