TR3 - Like Some Kind Of Alien Invasion

 (Featuring Tim Reynolds)


ATO Records



Product No.:
AATO 21451
UPC: 880882214517
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

First major album release!

Double LP in a gatefold jacket

TR3, the versatile electric power trio, consisting of Dave Matthews' guitar slinger and collaborator Tim Reynolds, bassist Mick Vaughn, and drummer Dan Martier, has long been known for bending genres and ripping through tunes every musical style, from blues, funk, progressive, psychedelic, jazz fusion, metal, and classic rock, with each song seemingly building off the one before it.

Two years in the making, Like Some Kind of Alien Invasion, their first major label album release, features 14 new original songs by Reynolds and further solidifies TR3 as a consistent rock band with wide-ranging influences.

Just like a TR3 show, Like Some Kind of Alien Invasion runs the gamut from a soulful funky love song, "The Glow," to the Southern rock-influenced "In the Zone," with Tim's riffs sounding like a crazier ZZ Top laid over Martier's deft percussion and Vaughn's powerful blues rumble to "All Over the Place" with Reynolds' clean, lightening speed electric guitar licks with equally quick, syllabic vocals.

Reynolds feels Like Some Kind of Alien Invasion is TR3's most satisfying album to date. "It's more sonically expansive and has more harmonic content than our previous works. We used more acoustic guitars and varieties of guitar tones and really focused on making this a chord-rich effort," says Reynolds. Like Some Kind of Alien Invasion showcases Reynolds seemingly effortless guitar virtuosity, Vaughn's wickedly funky bass, and the superlative rhythmic drumming of Martier. The album is particularly adept at building and sustaining a groove, making every song feel like an essential part of the whole-just like a TR3 show.

Reynolds, Vaughn, and Martier have been playing together since 2007 and their cohesiveness, talent and camaraderie once again shine through. According to Reynolds, "Mick and Dan are awesome on every song. Mick is great on everything and Dan basically plays stuff that humans cannot play." Reynolds also feels that this album greatly benefitted from the experimentation of Outer Banks recording engineer, Ed Tupper of Swampworks, to help guide them on their satisfying journey.


Side 1
1. I.C.U.
2. New Solutions
3. Everything I Believe In
4. In The Zone

Side 2
5. All Over The Place
6. Stability
7. Mystery Calling
8. Dracula

Side 3
9. Missile Coming At You
10. Running From People
11. The Glow

Side 4
12. Grania
13. Something In The Air
14. Revelation

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it