Analogue Productions



Product No.:
AAPP 6057
UPC: 753088605710
In Stock

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

or Add to Wishlist

"... Kudos to blues lover Chad Kassem for recognizing the sonic pearl hiding behind a good but not stellar original recording. Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio has proven yet again why vinyl rules the audiophile universe. Compared to a white label promo original, this issue is a quantum leap improvement, with three dimensional images and a big fat sound to die for." Recording = 10/10; Music = 10/10 — Dennis D. Davis, Hi-Fi +, Issue 84

"When the line below the artist's name says 'featuring Ben Webster,' and even if the artist is a bluesman to the core, you know there will be jazz inflections. If anyone was able to show that the to genres are inextricably linked, it's Witherspoon, who could take material by Bill Broonzy and make it sound like it was filtered through Count Basie. ... you'll be torn between filing it with blues or jazz. Buy it for one of the finest interpretations ever of 'Key to the Highway.'" — Sound Quality 90 percent — Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, November 2012

A true hidden classic! 

Somehow this 1961 Reprise title seems to have escaped the audiophile must-have list. It's a true hidden classic and an incredibly warm recording. The small combo setting really allows these two heavyweights to shine. The mood is laid-back and down-home. Accompanying musicians include trumpeter Gerald Wilson, pianist Ernie Freeman, bassist Ralph Hamilton and drummer Jim Miller. Roots was recorded at the often underrated or forgotten Radio Recorders in Hollywood, California. The studio, built in 1929, was one of the truly great - and great-sounding - studios of its day with an unbelievable discography of classics to its name.

1. I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water
2. I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
3. Key To the Highway
4. Did You Ever
5. Confessin' the Blues
6. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
7. Your Red Wagon
8. Rain Is Such a Lonesome Sound
9. Cherry Red
10. It's A Low Down Dirty Shame
11. Just a Dream
12. Please, Mr. Webster

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.

Lovin' the sonics

posted on 11/22/2015
5 Stars
and the music ain't bad either. This one's going into my heavy rotation stack.


posted on 03/16/2014
5 Stars
Great LP of old blues standards jazzed up a bit. Witherspoon is in great voice and backing musicianship with Ben Webster is top notch. Sonically, there is a nice warmth here. You can close your eyes and see yourself in a small club. Very welcome release. Kick back, grab your favorite beverage and let it wash over you.


posted on 05/22/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Jorge Ferreira
great album, sound and pressing.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.