Ray Davies - Americana

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
ALEG 71018
UPC: 889853871018
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

150 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

Ray Davies' first new album in 10 years!

Backed by the Jayhawks — double LP!

This is Ray Davies' first new album in 10 years. It follows his acclaimed 2013 memoir of the same name, and uses the book as both source material and jumping off point. Davies wrote and arranged all the music on 'Americana' and co-produced the album with Guy Massey and John Jackson with the Jayhawks serving as Davies' backing band. 'Americana' was recorded in London at Konk Studios, the legendary studio founded by The Kinks in 1973.

The album is an autobiographical work, taking inspiration from the vital role America has played in Davies' life over five decades. It also features a number of short spoken-word passages from the memoir. In Davies' own words, "America is such a big story, a vast landscape, you can get lost in it. It's possible in America to go ahead and have a new start somewhere."

Side 1
1. Americana
2. The Deal
3. Poetry

Side 2
1. Message from the Road
2. A Place in Your Heart
3. The Mystery Room
4. Silent Movie
5. Rock 'N' Roll Cowboys

Side 3
1. Change for Change
2. The Man Upstairs
3. I've Heard That Beat Before
4. A Long Drive Home to Tarzana

Side 4
1. The Great Highway
2. The Invaders
3. Wings of Fantasy

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it