Found 7 product(s) in the

CD

category that are

In Stock

in the

Classical Music

genre in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Products
Dan Fogelberg & Tim Weisberg - Twin Sons Of Different Mothers Product No: CSONG 70165
Available: InStock
Category: Gold CD
Label: Sony

Worth every penny...and then some

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, April 30, 2013 by DWM If people recall, this was a hot album when it was released. Many questioned Dan Foglelburg's motive for recording this type of album. But any fan of Dan's after listening once suddenly knew why. It was, and still is, a great collaboration. This is a gold CD and as those who own gold CD's know, these open up things to the ear that regular CD's do not seem to capture. The instrumentation is simply fantastic. The last two tracks are worth the cost alone, one being "The Power of Gold." I would like to see more of Dan Fogleburg's catalog released again in either DTS, SACD, SHM, or K2 mastering. This is a must have purchase for anyone who likes a nice easy-going listening CD. Simply fantastic.


Frederick Fennell - Pomp & Pipes! - Paul Riedo, organist Product No: CREF 58
Available: InStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

made my house shake!

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, May 26, 2011 by andy so good i thought we were having an earthquake!


Michael Stearns & Friends - The Lost World Product No: CLIM 037
Available: InStock
Category: DXD
Label: Lasting Impression Music

The Jungle Is Alive

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, November 17, 2010 by Terry F I first became aware of Michael Stearns’ The Lost World from HP’s Workshop in TAS 179. This is one of HP’s showcase CDs. However this CD is the second generation 24bit DXD version. It is everything that the first CD had and more. It has an expansive soundstage with a variety of detailed sounds. The original is also discussed in the August 2010 issue of TAS (page 110). I would have given the original five stars so this one goes beyond the limit.


Jerry Junkin - Crown Imperial Product No: CREF 112
Available: InStock
Category: HDCD CD
Label: Reference Recordings

RR 'Crown' Jewel

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, February 24, 2008 by Robert Bethune Truly impressive both musically and sonically. From the most delicate pianissimo to a thunderous triple forte, the team at RR has captured the sound of a wind orchestra and an organ with characteristic fidelity. An amazing recording that is a must have.


Georg Solti - Stravinsky: Le Sacre Du Printemps Product No: CJVC 225
Available: InStock
Category: XRCD24 CD
Label: JVC

A Superb

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, January 28, 2007 by Dave Schwan This recording was made by London/Decca Records in 1974. Having had a copy of the original LP since that time (and hearing the one and only CD reissue from London in the 80s, which sounded terrible) I must say this XRCD not only brings out what was missing in the previous CD issue, it also clarifies passages unheard in the original LP. There are many fine recordings of this 20th Century masterpiece. But if you like your "Sacre" exciting, in-your-face and stunning, this should fill the bill!


Pierino Gamba - Rossini Overtures Product No: CJVC 229
Available: InStock
Category: XRCD24 CD
Label: JVC

Great Sound, Great Performance.

4 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 15, 2005 by Andy I didn't enjoy this set as much as the Rossini Overtures from Pentatone featuring Marriner and the AOSMINF, but it's still not a bad album. Do check out the Pentatone set--that's my recommendation.


Zubin Mehta & the Los Angeles Philharmonic - Holst: The Planets Product No: CJVC 228
Available: InStock
Category: XRCD24 CD
Label: JVC

Almost Perfect Recording--Great Remastering

4 Stars
Posted Friday, February 4, 2005 by Andy There were only two times that I heard some defects in the original recording, otherwise this is a great CD. I was very impressed with JVC's 24 bit process--just as good as SACD or DVD-Audio to my ears (too bad the discs are more expensive than most SACD or DVD-A discs). The perfomance is almost flawless--Mehta captures the essence of the Planets and the LAPO plays very well--a nice disc..



Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Products