Found 18 product(s) in the

Classical Music

genre from the

Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

label in

Product Reviews

Results Per Page
Viewing 1 - 18 of 18 Products
Byron Janis - Liszt: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: AMER 90329
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Janis at his Best

5 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 26, 2015 by Triodeotl This recording is of the Liszt #2 is fantastic. Diabolical playing and technique. Great sound. This is a must have piano concerto LP that will test the limits of your system. All of these Janis Moscow recordings are worth having. Get them now! ++++


Antal Dorati - Rachmaninoff: Concerto No. 2 in C Minor Product No: AMER 90260
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Another Winner From Team Mercury

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 17, 2012 by Triodeotl This is notably one of the very best performances of the piano concerto #2 on LP. The sound is very transparent and is amongst the best that Mercury ever got at the Northrop Auditorium.

The piano is up front and center and the playing from Janis is exemplary. The playing of the orchestra compliments the piano in every way. This LP has possibly the best balance between the piano and the orchestra I have heard.

My pressing was flat and noise free. Another great Dorati. Do not hesitate to buy this LP. Highly recommended and keep the coming Speakers Corner. +++++


Frederick Fennell - Wagner For Band Product No: AMER 90276
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Recommended TAS List LP

4 Stars
Posted Saturday, January 14, 2012 by Triodeotl This LP has been a long standing TAS list LP and there is a reason why. Its the sound which has the fullest Mercury sound on record that I have heard and also one of the biggest bass drum sounds ever. Telarc is not match for this.

Reservation is that this is the wedding march on side one but the sound is so big and warm you will not care. If you relish sonic knockouts then you must have this LP in your collection. If you love sound you will be pulling it out all the time to show off you systems bass response and harmonic coherency. Recommended if you love big bass and big sound. A audiophile knockout if there ever was one.

Lets have one round of hands for the Mercury Team and especially Harold Lawrence for allowing this work of art to have taken place. ++++


Antal Dorati - Respighi: Ancient Dances and Airs for Lute Product No: AMER 90199
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

excellent Merc Repro

4 Stars
Posted Sunday, July 10, 2011 by Anonymous


Janos Starker and Gyorgy Sebok - Brahms: Sonatas For Cello & Piano Product No: AMER 90392
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Awesome record

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, June 7, 2011 by Anonymous I completely and emphatically agree with Richard Foster on this one. Just buy it!


Paul Paray - Debussy: 3 Nocturnes/ Ravel: Daphnes & Chloe Product No: AMER 90281
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Outstanding

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, November 5, 2009 by Anonymous Outstanding recording and high quality pressing. Fully enjoyable.


Antal Dorati - Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B Flat Product No: AMER 90258
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Takes a while to grow on one

4 Stars
Posted Friday, October 23, 2009 by Gerald I got this because I'm a big fan of Dorati's work, especially in Stravinsky. Initially I was a bit disappointed by what seemed to be a slightly harsh and grey Mercury recording and an interpretation to match. However, whilst this is clearly an interpretation that emphasises the hardness in Prokofiev's score, it has grown on me and now I quite like its spare properties. Indeed, generally speaking I like unromantic readings of Russian music which can easily be over-egged, preferring Mravinsky or Markevitch in Tchaikovsky over the hysterical interpretations of Rostropovich and others. However, Sargent was also a very fine interpreter of Prokofiev and if I were to choose again I might chose his version of this fifth symphony on Classic records.


Howard Hanson/Eastman-Rochester Orchestra - Fiesta in Hi-Fi Product No: AMER 90134
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Great Performances, However...

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, August 11, 2009 by Dave Schwan It was a true pleasure to see this release come our way this year. I've loved these pieces--and performances--since I first heard them in college over 30 years ago, particularly Ron Nelson's "Savannah River Holiday" which has become rather well-known. (It also was well-done by Keith Lockhart and the Boston Pops in a recording for RCA about 10 years or so ago.) Howard Hanson gets the most out of the Eastman-Rochester Orchestra. While the sound is very good--especially the low end--I wouldn't rank its technical quality among the best of the Mercury recordings. (I feel bad about saying this, but I think it's true.) Don't let my assessment stop you...if you're interested in these recordings, by all means, get this LP. To end on a positive note, it's GREAT having the ORIGINAL covers, liner notes and labels for these LPs back in print! Thanks for all of them!


Antal Dorati/London Symphony Orchestra - Copland: Appalachian Spring/Billy The Kid Product No: AMER 90246
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

4 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 5, 2007 by Anonymous


Antal Dorati - Respighi: Birds & Brazilian Impressions Product No: AMER 90153
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

4 Stars
Posted Friday, July 27, 2007 by Anonymous


Stanislaw Skrowaczewski - Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5 Product No: AMER 90060
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Try it you like Russian music

4 Stars
Posted Tuesday, September 5, 2006 by Rick This is Russian orchestral music of the best kind. The Speakers Corner pressing is a superb pressing for a re-issue.

The sound is excellent with killer bass and large volumes of air in the hall. The recording perspective is fairly close.

Although it is not a match for Shostakovitch conducting this same piece on the old EMI Melodia (which would be very hard to find on LP).

This reissue is a must have for music and sound. If you need at least one piece of Shostakovitch's music the #5 is the one to have.


Stanislaw Skrowaczewski - Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suites Nos. 1 & 2 Product No: AMER 90315
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Killer Mercury

5 Stars
Posted Monday, May 29, 2006 by Rick This is one of the best of the Speakers Corner Mercury re-issues. Stunning sound and an excellent performance. Recommended highly for sound and music.


Antal Dorati - Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies 2 & 3/ Enesco: Roumanian Rhapsodies 1 & 2 Product No: AMER 90235
Available: LimitedStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Almost the best

4 Stars
Posted Friday, February 24, 2006 by Drastic The fire and spirit does not quite match Stokowski's version on RCA. However, Stokowski liked to meddle in engineering and was fond of "hot" recordings, so the Mercury sound is overall more natural. The Mercury reissue pressing is near flawless and the recording engineering excellent.


Byron Janis - Mussorgsky: Pictures At an Exhibition Product No: AMER 90217
Available: LimitedStock
Category: Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Moussorgsky's Original Piano Version

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, December 28, 2005 by Greg Sarette Despite the assertion in the product description that this is the first recording of Moussorgsky's original piano version of the "Pictures at an Exhibition" there have been several recordings available in mono and stereo for many years. Those of Horowitz and Richter come most readily to mind. In addition I own a Direct-to-Disc of the original piano version played by Shura Cherkassky.

It's too bad that Speaker's Corner didn't make this a three record set and release Dorati's performance at 45 rpm as well.


Janos Starker - Dvorak: Concerto for Cello & Orchestra in B Minor Product No: AMER 90303
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

Yo Yo Who?

5 Stars
Posted Thursday, December 1, 2005 by Anonymous This is the most moving cello perfomance I have ever heard on record. And for me to enjoy hearing "Kol Nidre" at any time other than Yom Kippur is saying something. The Mercury Living Presence recording is amazing. Vinyl rocks!


Antal Dorati - Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Opus 30 Product No: AMER 90283
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

So So

3 Stars
Posted Sunday, August 21, 2005 by Justin Javan This is one of my favorite classical pieces; however, this recording is very dull. The piano seems veiled. Imaging and transparency are mediocre. Had I known I would not have bought it.


Janos Starker - Bach: Suites For Unaccompanied Cello Complete Product No: AMER 39016
Available: InStock
Category: Vinyl Box Sets
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

5 Stars
Posted Tuesday, January 25, 2005 by Anonymous


Paul Paray - Debussy: Prelude a L'Apres-midi d'un faune/Petite Suite Product No: AMER 90213
Available: InStock
Category: 180 Gram Vinyl Record
Label: Speakers Corner (Mercury Living Presence)

The great Paul Paray and the DSO

5 Stars
Posted Wednesday, June 23, 2004 by Anonymous This is a difinitive recording. Paul Paray and the DSO were legendary, and this recording is one of the reasons why. Hats off to Speakers Corner for a job well done on this reissue. This LP sounds just incredible.



Viewing 1 - 18 of 18 Products