Max Roach - We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite


Pure Pleasure Records (Candid)



Product No.:
APPR 9002
EAN: 5060149620267
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram Vinyl Record

"Based upon the diversity of music, quality of product and their extraordinary rate of progress, Pure Pleasure Records is our re-issue record company of the year."
- hi-fi+

"This is a classic. At a time when the civil rights movement was starting to heat up, drummer Max Roach performed and recorded a seven-part suite dealing with black history (particularly slavery) and racism. 'Driva' Man' has a powerful statement by veteran tenor Coleman Hawkins and there is valuable solo space elsewhere for trumpeter Booker Little and trombonist Julian Priester, but it is the overall performance of Abbey Lincoln that is most notable. Formerly a nightclub singer, Lincoln really came into her own under Roach's tutelage and she is a strong force throughout this intense set. On 'Tryptich: Prayer/Protest/Peace,' Lincoln is heard in duets with the drummer and her wrenching screams of rage are quite memorable. This timeless protest record is a gem." – Scott Yanow

"Abbey Lincoln joins Max roach in her most intense vocal performance on record. Like John Lennon's Plastic Ono Band and Marianne Faithful's Broken English, Lincoln's performance is gut wrenching and emotionally raw…This is an indispensable album. Pure Pleasure has been mining the Candid catalog to good effect, and this is one of the gems…It's an excellent disc with only a faint trace of tape bleed-through in a few places. My highest recommendation for this classic." Recording = 9/10; Music = 10/10 – Dennis D. Davis, Hi-Fi+, Issue 45

1. Driva Man
2. Freedom Day
3. Triptych: Prayer/Protest/Peace
4. All Africa
5. Tears For Johannesburg

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

The definitive version of a landmark recording

posted on 12/09/2023
5 Stars
Reviewer: W Taylor
If you are interested in this important work from Max Roach, this is the pressing to get. It is powerful, crisp, and clear. The percussion is mind-blowing.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.