Michel Legrand - Legrand Jazz





Product No.:
AIMX 6030-45
UPC: 856276002213
In Stock

45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram

45 RPM

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Hybrid Stereo SACD
180 Gram Vinyl Record

45 RPM 180-gram double LP!

Remastered from the original analog stereo masters

The greatest assembly of musical talent ever on one album!

Features performances by John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Bill Evans, Ben Webster and 27 more jazz greats!

Now available as a 45 RPM 180-gram 2LP pressed at RTI, enabling a richer sonic experience! The music spread over four sides of vinyl reduces distortion and high frequency loss as the wider-spaced grooves let your stereo cartridge track more accurately.

In 1958, a young, successful French composer-arranger with a major infatuation on American jazz, worked his way to New York and convinced the very best players of the time to record an album of largely jazz standards. Michel Legrand would go on to win numerous prizes and accolades (3 Oscars, 5 Grammies, 2 Palmes D'or, etc.), but little of what followed matched the sheer brilliance of Legrand Jazz.

Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Ben Webster, Phil Woods and practically every other session man in town signed up for sessions with Legrand to record his idiosyncratic arrangements of standards ("Django", "Don’t Get Around Much Anymore", "Night in Tunisia", etc.). Instead of regurgitating then-current bop styles, he reinvented the very nature of orchestral jazz band repertoire to make a unique and forward-looking statement on the genre.

The sound of Impex's all-analog LP preserves the wide soundstage of late 50’s Columbia recordings while creating intimate spaces between players on the stage for maximum definition. This rare, highly-praised recording has never sounded as good as it does now. Go big with Legrand Jazz.

Legrand Jazz was greeted by an enthusiastic review in the magazine Down Beat. Dom Cerulli awarded it five stars out of a possible five.

The meticulously recreated outer jacket is packaged in a gatefold with an original photo montage inside honoring Michel Legrand's masterpiece of reinvention and sublime fan-boy enthusiasm.

• Mastered by Chris Bellman and Bob Donnelly on Bernie Grundman Mastering's all-tube cutting system, Hollywood, California
• Analog mix-down transfer of the original 1958 work tapes by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios, New York, NY
• Plated and pressed at RTI, supervised by Rick Hashimoto
• Gatefold jacket housed inside a resealable, protective plastic sleeve

Michel Legrand, conductor, arranger (All songs)


Side 1:
1. The Jitterbug Waltz (Fats Waller)
2. Nuages (Django Reinhardt)
3. Night In Tunisia (Dizzy Gillespie)
4. Blue And Sentimental (Count Basie)
5. Stompin' At The Savoy (Benny Goodman)
6. Django (John Lewis)

Side 2:
1. Wild Man Blues (Jelly Roll Morton)
2. Rosetta (Earl Hines)
3. 'Round Midnight (Thelonious Monk)
4. Don't Get Around Much Anymore (Duke Ellington)
5. In A Mist (Bix Beiderbecke)

Customer Reviews (4.50 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.

Exemplary in all respects.

posted on 07/20/2023
5 Stars
Impex has done it again. I had been waiting a long time for the repress. Worth the wait. WOW.

Buy now or....... You know the rest.

posted on 01/21/2023
5 Stars
Reviewer: Bill Cordero
This just might be the best sounding album I own. Super clear, quiet, great performances, and a beautiful glossy package with many pages of info inside.

Great music, poor pressing quality

posted on 01/13/2021
3 Stars
Great music on this one, I have number 501 or close to it. Loud vinyl, pops and ticks galore. 3 stepped cleaned on my cyclone from the get go and no change.

Just buy it!

posted on 08/26/2019
5 Stars
Reviewer: Mike
Outstanding! Great music, great delivery. Impex has no competition at the moment! 45 rpm adds that little extra flow and separation compared 331/3 rpm!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.