Johnny Cash - Orange Blossom Special


Speakers Corner (Columbia)



Product No.:
ACOL 9109
EAN: 4260019714596
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

Just like the often sung-about fellow locomotives "Midnight Special" and the "Chattenooga Choo Choo," the "Orange Blossom Special" finds itself bathed in the very best tradition of American long-distance trains and memorable journeys. Puffing steam trains symbolise an atmosphere of departure, endurance and the mechanical pulse beat of profit-oriented industrialisation, while also conjuring up the spirit of down-and-outs who tramp from one end of the country to the other along the railtracks, dodging train fares.

Almost guilelessly at first, the album No. 20 forged ahead into the hearts and hips of Cash fans with old favorites and climbed to No. 3 on the country charts. If you listen carefully, you will notice that three top Bob Dylan songs have crept in — "It Ain't Me Babe", "Mama, You've Been On My Mind" and "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right."

Dylan, who in his early years was far from enjoying cult status and was condemned a godless troublemaker, communist and traitor to folk music, found a perspicacious patron in Cash. In no uncertain terms, Cash demanded that Dylan's critics should "Shut up! ... and let him sing!" and even sang Dylan himself. This present LP is not merely a perfectly produced country album by the Man In Black, but a traction engine for the work of his spiritual brother.

Recording: 1964
Production: Don Law, Frank Jones

Side 1
1. Orange Blossom Special
2. The Long Black Veil
3. It Ain’t Me, Babe
4. The Wall
5. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All right
6. You Wild Colorado

Side 2
7. Mama, You Been On My Mind
8. When It’s Springtime In Alaska (It’s Forty Below)
9. All Of God’s Children Ain’t Free
10. Danny Boy
11. Wildwood Flower
12. Amen

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it