Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Lucinda Williams - Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone

 (+ Download Code)


Highway 20 Records


Female Vocalists

Product No.:
AHW20 011
UPC: 748252254931
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.


or Add to Wishlist

The Grammy Award-winner's first ever double studio album

Featuring 20 new recordings

3-LP deluxe tri-fold package, includes album download

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone, the first release on Lucinda Williams' own Highway 20 Records label, is easily the most ambitious creation in a body of work that's long on ambition.

Over the course of two discs, Williams leaves no emotional crevice left unexplored, drinking deeply from a well of inspiration that culminates with an offering that overflows with delta-infused country soul. Williams wrings every drop of affirmation from uplifting tracks like the empowering "Walk On" (a loping paean to life's most sustaining aspects, the fleeting and the permanent) and every whit of dark beauty from songs such as "This Old Heartache" (a stark reminder that churning psychic waters can lurk beneath a placid surface).

Produced by Tom Overby, Greg Leisz and Lucinda Williams, recorded and mixed by Dave Bianco, mastered by Joe Gastwirt. The songs are amplified by a range of musical talents that include Greg Leisz, Tony Joe White, Pete Thomas, Gia Ciambotti, Bill Frisell and Jakob Dylan.

"The 61-year-old artist's first new album in four years (and 11th overall) is a big one, with 20 tracks (18 written solely by Williams) spread across two discs. Guests include Bill Frisell, Jakob Dylan, Ian McLagan (Faces), and Elvis Costello's rhythm section of Pete Thomas and Davey Faragaher. The album also features a track with lyrics from Williams' father, poet Miller Williams." —

LP 1:
Side 1
1. Compassion
2. Protection
3. Burning Bridges
4. East Side Of Town

LP 1:
Side 2
5. West Memphis
6. Cold Day In Hell
7. Foolishness

LP 2:
Side 1
8. Wrong Number
9. Stand Right By Each Other
10. It’s Gonna Rain

LP 2:
Side 2
11. Something Wicked This Way Comes
12. Big Mess
13. When I Look At The World

LP 3:
Side 1
14. Walk On
15. Temporary Nature (Of Any Precious Thing)
16. Everything But The Truth
17. This Old Heartache

LP 3:
Side 2
18. Stowaway In Your Heart
19. One More Day
20. Magnolia

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Highly Recommended!

posted on 07/21/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: Drunken Angel
All 3 vinyl pressings were flat & quiet. Not sure if this was a analog or digital master but whoever did the mastering/mix did an excellent job. Tight powerful bass with a little warmth, clean extended highs without being too hot & the vocal/guitar placement was perfect. So the sonics are 5 Stars and the music is also 5 stars. This is "Car Wheels" good. There are 6-7 gems/songs that are 10X more powerful on vinyl than mp3/CD. For a good time - drop the needle on "Walk On" and turn the volume knob to 1 O'clock. Highly Recommended.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.