Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Annie Lennox - Nostalgia


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 96621
UPC: 602537966219
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Annie Lennox's new standards album Nostalgia

Annie Lennox is one of the most respected and admired singers worldwide, best known as one half of the Eurythmics, the '80s new wave duo famed for edgy synthesizers, dance beats and Lennox's powerhouse voice. She's got nothing to prove, but she loves a challenge.

For her latest solo effort Nostalgia, Lennox is going back, way back further than most singers who decide to do an album of covers. To even call the songs on Nostalgia covers somehow diminishes what it is that the album achieves, writes uDiscoverMusic. Among the artists that Lennox covered are Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Jo Stafford and Louis Armstrong. To come up with the songs she decided to record, Lennox spent many hours watching classic performances on YouTube.

"I was just curious, I thought 'I wonder what my voice would be like. Would these songs suit my voice?' It was like a little challenge," Lennox says. "I just sort of got to know them, became friends with them really, and had a great deal of joy in the process."

Lennox makes her own the interpretations of such classics as "I Put A Spell On You," "Georgia on My Mind," "Summertime," "The Nearness of You" and more.

It's an intensely person collection of songs and nothing like her album of contemporary covers, Medusa. "There's alchemy in it," she says. "I think of it as interpretations of songs that are part of a classic songbook, so it's very hallowed ground in a way. You don't go to these songs lightly."


1. Memphis in June
2. Georgia on My Mind
3. I Put A Spell on You
4. Summertime
5. I Cover the Waterfront
6. Strange Fruit
7. God Bless the Child
8. You Belong to Me
9. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
10. The Nearness of You
11. Mood Indigo

Customer Reviews (1.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Not recommended

posted on 02/07/2021
1 Stars
Reviewer: RayFar
I was super excited to get this LP as I had the CD as well as a digital version on my computer, but both at CD quality and wanted to experience the LP quality. Unfortunately, not only the recording is at poor quality, the LP I received seems to not have gone through quality control and had lot of pops and cracks and the surface has discoloring at various places.

Maybe this was just my copy, but I can't recommend buying this LP.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.