Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Otis Spann - Walking The Blues


Pure Pleasure Records (Candid)



Product No.:
APPR 9025
EAN: 5060149622025
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Remastered by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London

180-gram vinyl LP

Walking the Blues is arguably the finest record Otis Spann ever cut, boasting 11 cuts of astounding blues piano. On several numbers, Spann is supported by guitarist Robert Jr. Lockwood and their interaction is sympathetic, warm, and utterly inviting. Spann relies on originals here, from "Half Ain't Been Told" to "Walking the Blues," but he also throws in a few standards ("Goin' Down Slow," "My Home Is in the Delta") that help draw a fuller portrait of his musicianship. Most importantly, however, is the fact that Walking the Blues simply sounds great — it's some of the finest blues piano you'll ever hear.

Side 1
1. It Must Have Been The Devil
2. Otis’ Blues
3. Going Down Slow
4. Half Ain’t Been Told
5. Monkey Face Woman
6. This Is The Blues

Side 2
7. Evil Ways
8. Come Day, Go Day
9. Walking The Blues
10. Bad Condition
11. My Home Is In The Delta

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 01/25/2016
5 Stars
Reviewer: Riley
This is a top of the heap album in the Candid catalogue, and Pure Pleasure has done total justice to Spann's legacy in this release. Astounding sonics, flawless pressing, and a level of musicianship that raises goosebumps you can't knock down with a hammer.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.