Spin Doctors - Pocket Full Of Kryptonite

 (Limited Edition)





Product No.:
ASON 5612
EAN: 888750719416
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

First ever domestic press on vinyl

Pocket Full of Kryptonite, originally pressed in 1991 sold more than 6 million copies worldwide and was on Billboard’s pop chart for an incredible 115 straight weeks.

As a jam band in the vein of Blues Traveler and Phish, Spin Doctors built a grassroots following by playing anywhere and everywhere. After a live EP caught their early potential, they released this uncharacteristically tight debut album. Featuring several hits that could have appeared on a Steve Miller Band album, Kryptonite became an immediate frat-rock favorite. Thanks to a spotless production, the tight groove of "Little Miss Can't Be Wrong," "Two Princes," and "Jimmy Olsen's Blues" immediately connected with audiences who seemed to find singer Chris Barron's hapless hippie lyrics and goofy grin a winning combination. — Rob O'Connor

This reissue of Pocket Full Of Kryptonite by SoundStageDirect is a special project for both the band and Seth Frank, President and founder of SoundStageDirect. Seth’s passion for vinyl started at the young age of 11 when he began working at the Princeton Record Exchange. It was in that very record store where a friendship between Seth and Chris Barron, the lead singer of the Spin Doctors solidified over a mutual love of music.

As the legend goes, Chris Barron went in to the Princeton Record Exchange in Princeton, N.J., when he was about 13 years old. He met 15-year-old Seth who at the time worked at the store which Chris thought was really cool. With $3 of hard-earned allowance in his pocket, Chris asked Seth, ‘What’s a really good album that’s like, cheap?’ Seth said, “Dude, ‘Live At Leeds,’ It’s a killer album.” And so Chris bought his first vinyl album for 99 cents, and walked out with enough money left over for a slice of pizza and a soda.

The Spin Doctors are currently on tour with all of the original members (Chris Barron, Eric Schenkman, Aaron Comess & Mark White).

Side 1
1. Jimmy Olsen’s Blues
2. What Time Is It?
3. Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong
4. Forty or Fifty
5. Refrigerator Car
6. More Than She Knows

Side 2
7. Two Princes
8. Off My Line
9. How Could You Want Him (When You Know You Could Have Me?)
10. Shinbone Alley / Hard to Exist

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Not much difference to the CD.

posted on 05/31/2015
3 Stars
Reviewer: Sean.
A favourite of mine that I was introduced to years ago through alternative FM radio in Sydney.

I have only listened to this on CD before and whilst the vinyl highlights some missing musical passages as they always do, I can't say that is a significant upgrade. It doesn't appear to be firing forward but just floating in front of you which, is disappointing as I really love this album. Maybe my views wil change after a few more spins.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.