Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Hyperion Knight - Beethoven/Stravinsky: Hyperion Knight/ Sonata In C Major, Op. 53


Wilson Audiophile Recordings



Product No.:

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Also available on:
Hybrid Stereo SACD
200 Gram Vinyl Record

Total download size: 2.30GB Total play length: 38:59

DSD file created from original analog master tapes

Cover art and liner notes included

Hyperion Knight plays a most unusual hand-crafted concert grand piano in invigorating fashion. Buy this recording just to hear the piano, which has a more powerful lower register than even a Bosendorfer Imperial. The 9 foot concert grand was built by Sheldon Smith at his spacious workshop in Berkeley, California, and the recording took place in his workshop.

Schoeps omnidirectional condenser microphones, in a spaced pair, were used in conjunction with vaccum tube record amplifiers to capture a harmonically rich and accurate sound.

BEETHOVEN: Sonata in C Major, Op. 53: When Beethoven left Bonn in 1792, few could have envisioned the titanic creations which would follow his arrival in Vienna. The Count Ferdinand von Waldstein could hardly have foreseen the prophetic nature of his parting words to Beethoven: "Mozart's genius is still mourning the death of his ward. In the inexhaustible Haydn he found a refuge but no employment... Through unremitting industry you shall receive Mozart‘s spirit from the hands of Haydn." One can only imagine the exhilaration with which the Count must have greeted the sonata whose dedication immortalized his name.

STRAVINSKY: Trois Movements de Petrouchka: The trilogy of ballets which Stravinsky wrote for the famed Ballet Russe during the years 1910-1914 are a milestone in the history of music. Each in its own way makes a unique contribution to the evolution of music in the twentieth century. “Petrouchka” (1911) is in certain respects the finest ballet of the three. It represents a landmark in choreography and stage design as well as in its musical vernacular, which is widely heralded as the origin of polytonality in this century. “Petrouchka” was conceived as a work for piano and orchestra. It heralded the famed “Petrouchka chord” — the juxtaposition of a C major triad in the treble and an F# major triad in the bass, creating a dissonant yet whimsical effect. This white note versus black note appproach to tonality is structurally significant in the ballet as a whole.


1. Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, “Waldstein” – I. Allegro con brio
2. Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, “Waldstein” – II. Introduzione – Adagio molto – III. Rondo – Allegretto moderato
3. 3 Movements from Petrushka – No. 1. Danse russe (Russian Dance)
4. 3 Movements from Petrushka – No. 2. Chez Petrouchka (Petrushka’s Cell)
5. 3 Movements from Petrushka – No. 3. La semaine grasse (The Shrove-tide Fair)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it