Jay McShann - What A Wonderful World

Jay McShann - What A Wonderful World


Groove Note



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.00GB Total play length: 52:25

Cover art and liner notes included

Groove Note Records latest recording of Jay McShann, the legendary Kansas City jazz/blues man, features several of Kansas City's best musicians including Alaadeen Ahmad (tenorsax) and Sonny Kenner (guitar). Jay is famous for his years of playing with Charlie Parker and also his solo career. Jay was in excellent form during the sessions and delivered memorably strong performances of classics like "Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You," "Blue Monday," "Piney Brown Blues," "Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound" as well as some other McShann originals. Jay also covered a couple of standards including a brilliant and moving rendition of "What A Wonderful World" and a great instrumental version of "Land of Dreams." The LP includes a bonus 45 rpm with a version of "Until The Real Thing Comes Along," a tribute by Kansas City jazz vocalist Luqman Hamza to his old friend and colleague Jay McShann. Produced by Joe Harley, recorded by Micheal C. Ross.

1. Piney Brown Blues
2. Cherry Red
3. Just For You
4. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
5. Crazy Legs and Friday Strut
6. Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound
7. Land of Dreams
8. Lonely Boy Blues
9. Hot Biscuits
10. Blue Monday
11. What A Wonderful World
12. Until The Real Thing Comes Along

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it