Bob Dylan - Nashville Skyline

Total download size: 1.10GB Total play length: 27:12

Cover art included, liner notes not included

DSD files created by Gus Skinas from the original Sony Super Audio CD cutting masters

"John Wesley Harding suggested country with its textures and structures, but Nashville Skyline was a full-fledged country album, complete with steel guitars and brief, direct songs. It's a warm, friendly album, particularly since Bob Dylan is singing in a previously unheard gentle croon — the sound of his voice is so different it may be disarming upon first listen, but it suits the songs. While there are a handful of lightweight numbers on the record, at its core are several excellent songs — 'Lay Lady Lay,' 'To Be Alone With You,' 'I Threw It All Away,' 'Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You,' as well as a duet with Johnny Cash on 'Girl From the North Country' — that have become country-rock standards. And there's no discounting that Nashville Skyline, arriving in the spring of 1969, established country-rock as a vital force in pop music, as well as a commercially viable genre." —

1. Girl from the North Country - Johnny Cash
2. Nashville Skyline Rag
3. To Be Alone With You
4. I Threw It All Away
5. Peggy Day
6. Lay Lady Lay
7. One More Night
8. Tell Me That It Isn't True
9. Country Pie
10. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

A Fantastic Sounding Classic Album!

posted on 09/08/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: RockStar2005
Just bought this DSD version and I was VERY impressed by it!

Dylan's duet with Johnny Cash on "The Girl From The North Country" starts the album off on the right foot. Definitely the best version of this song is the one found here. Lay Lady Lay wipes the floor with the mp3 version which in the background is a "foggy mess". This version here is very clean, as is the version of North Country here vs the mp3, though Lady is even more so improved.

Other tracks like Tell Me That It Isn't True, Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You, and especially I Threw It All Away make this album well-worth the price! Sound quality is clear and warm all the way through, so it definitely meets the high sound quality standards that you'd expect of a DSD release too.

Highly recommended!!!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.