Various Artists - Country Funk II 1967-74


Light in the Attic



Product No.:
ALTA 116
UPC: 826853011617
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

All tracks newly remastered

Gatefold double LP housed in a deluxe Stoughton "tip-on" jacket

Features illustrations and comic by Jess Rotter with story by Jessica Hundley

"Country Funk" is a genre created not from geography or shared ideology but a term applied retrospectively based solely on the feel of the songs: hip-swinging rhythms with bourbon on the breath. These are songs to make your cowboy boots itchy, songs that encompass the elation of gospel with the sexual thrust of the blues blended with country hoedown harmonies cut with inner city grit.

After 2012's Country Funk Volume I: 1969-1975 (Best Reissue of 2012 — Spin), Country Funk Volume II mines tracks from the same period including household names like Willie Nelson, Townes Van Zandt, and JJ Cale to more obscure artists such as Bill Wilson and Thomas Jefferson Kaye, among others.

Compiled and presented once again by the team behind Volume I (DJ and music supervisor Zach Cowie plus Light In The Attic's Matt Sullivan and Patrick McCarthy), the release also includes a reunion of writer Jessica Hundley and Jess Rotter (original album/label artwork and new illustrations by) in the form of a comic book called "The Hot Dawgs."

It may be the genre that had no name, but there's plenty of gas in the country funk trunk yet.


Side 1
1. Don’t Be Cruel - Billy Swan
2. Me and Mr. Hohner - Bob Darin
3. California Women – Hoyt Axton
4. Hunger Child Blues - Townes Van Zandt

Side 2
5. Collection Box - Thomas Jefferson Kaye
6. Shotgun Willie - Willie Nelson
7. The Weight - Jackie DeShannon
8. Don’t Let Me Down - Gene Clark & Doug Dillard

Side 3
9. Pay Day Give Away - Bill Wilson
10. Getting Happy - Dolly Parton
11. Nobody - Larry Williams & Johnny Watson with the Kaleidoscope
12. Rising Sun - Jim Ford
13. Cajun Moon - JJ Cale

Side 4
14. Sumpin Funky Going On - Donnie Fritts
15. Tulsa Turnaround - Kenny Rogers & The First Edition
16. Long Long Time To Get Old - Great Speckled Bird
17. Northeast Texas Woman - Willis Alan Ramsey

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it