Various Artists - Country Funk 1969-75


Light in the Attic



Product No.:
ALTA 083
UPC: 826853008310

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

All tracks newly remastered

Features rare cuts by Bob Darin, Gray Fox, Dennis The Fox, Cherokee, Gritz and more

Double LP housed in a deluxe Stoughton Printing "tip-on" jacket with liner notes insert, Jess Rotter's illustrations

Light In The Attic presents Country Funk 1969-1975, a melting pot concoction of the music of Dale Hawkins, John Randolph Marr, Cherokee, Johnny Adams, Mac Davis, Bob Darin, Jim Ford, Gray Fox, Link Wray, Bobby Charles, Tony Joe White, Dennis The Fox, Larry Jon Wilson, Bobbie Gentry, Gritz, and Johnny Jenkins.

What in the hell is country funk you ask? The answer is a complicated one, in part due to the fact that country funk is an inherently defiant genre, escaping all efforts at easy categorization. The style encompasses the elation of gospel with the sexual thrust of the blues, country hoedown harmony with inner city grit. It is alternately playful and melancholic, slow jammin', and booty shakin'.

It is both studio slick and barroom raw. And while these all may seem unlikely combinations at first glance, upon close listen, it all makes sweet sense.

Featuring extensive liner notes by Jessica Hundley (MOJO, The New York Times, Vogue), original album/label artwork, and new illustrations by Jess Rotter (, Rotter & Friends), this down home package is not only a treat for the ears, but a feast for the eyes. Think of this as a fantasyland where the Josie-era Meters back young Elvis singing Kris Kristofferson-penned slices of rustic American life and you'll begin to understand the country funk vibe. It's from the swamp to the city and all points in between.


Side 1
1. L.A. Memphis Tyler Texas - Dale Hawkins
2. Hello L.A., Bye-Bye Birmingham - John Randolph Marr
3. Georgia Morning Dew - Johnny Adams
4. Lucas Was A Redneck - Mac Davis

Side 2
5. Light Blue - Bob Darin
6. I’m Wanta Make Her Love Me - Jim Ford
7. Hawg Fog - Grey Fox
8. Fire And Brimstone - Link Wray

Side 3
9. Street People - Bobby Charles
10. Funky Business - Cherokee
11. Studspider - Tony Joe White
12. Piledriver - Dennis The Fox

Side 4
13. Ohoopee River Bottomland - Larry Jon Wilson
14. He Made A Woman Out Of Me - Bobbie Gentry
15. Bayou Country - Gritz
16. I Walk On Gilded Splinters - Johnny Jenkins

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it