Dame Kiri Te Kanawa - Waiata

 (With the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra)





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 484MB Total play length: 49:31

Cover art included, liner notes not included

"The first album recorded by Kiri te Kanawa, in 1964, was a collection of Maori songs, and there's certainly logic in bringing her recording career full circle with Waiata, Maori for song, in 2014. te Kanawa has recorded and performed music reflecting her Maori heritage. (She was an orphan, adopted by a Maori family.) The Maori song repertory, which has a long history, is a fascinating one, reflecting something like the process by which Scottish and Irish songs became incorporated into Western idioms, but with a still more diverse ritual origin reflected in the songs performed by te Kanawa here." — AllMusic.com

1. Tama Ngakau Marie (Son Of A Peaceful Heart)
2. Karu Karu (Expectation)
3. Haere E Hine (Farewell My Lady Fair)
4. He Puti Puti Koe (To A Lovely Flower)
5. Maringi Noa (I Weep For Your Return)
6. Awe Maria (Hail Mary)
7. E Te Ariki (Our Lord - Watch Over Us)
8. He Wawata (The Days Of Yearning)
9. Te Taniwha (The God Of The Sea)
10. Whakaaria Mai (How Great Thou Art)
11. E Te Iwi E (Call To The People)
12. Kohu-Auahi (Blue Smoke)
13. Aue E Te Iwi E (The Pride Of Our Maori People)
14. Kamate (Darkness Into Light)
15. Tirohia Mokoia (Look To The Island)
16. Ehara Te Waea (Love Never Breaks)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it