Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Steppenwolf - Steppenwolf


Analogue Productions



Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Also available on:
Hybrid Stereo SACD

Total download size: 1.90GB Total play length: 47:14

Cover art and liner notes included

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog master. DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original DSD audio used to create the Analogue Productions SACD.

Classic 1968 debut album features "Born To Be Wild" and "The Pusher"

"Although familiar to anyone who was sentient in the '60s, or who has a retro fetish that includes repeated viewings of "Easy Rider," this masterful reissue reveals just how good Steppenwolf's 1969 debut sounds. Audiophiles are aware that Dunhill Records — home of The Mamas and The Papas — could deliver sonic masterpieces, but who knew that this early example of 'hard' rock was so well-treated in the studio? I have never heard 'Born To Be Wild' sounding so visceral, the biggest shockers being the sense of space during the drum break at 2m 07s and the fluidity of the bass. The guitar opener on "Your Wall's Too High" is also a revelation. It's on vinyl too, if you find digitizing this gem to be sacrilegious." Sound quality 91%. Ken Kessler, Hi-Fi News, June 2014.

"Chad, my man, the new Steppenwolf, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Dusty Springfield SACDs are damned brilliant! What fantastic transfers! Best that I've ever heard these albums sound, amigo." - David Robinson, Editor-in-Chief, Positive Feedback Online

Steppenwolf have become synonymous with their huge Harley ridin'-hit, "Born to be Wild", although in reality, their success was far broader, with sales totaling more than 25 million units worldwide. Now their eponymous debut album originally released in 1968 is back and on Hybrid SACD, stunning audiophiles everywhere — courtesy of Analogue Productions!

Their history is littered with a succession of band members, substance abuse issues and several break-ups and reformations, but Steppenwolf endures.

Steppenwolf started life in Canada in the early '60s as The Sparrows, but did not find fame until they had changed their name and released their rockin' album debut in 1968. When two tracks, "Born to be Wild" and "The Pusher", were used in the film "Easy Rider," the success of the album was assured. It marked the first of five consecutive gold certified albums but after the release of For Ladies Only in 1971, the band split.

They were back together by 1974 and started to release albums again, beginning with 1974's Slow Flux; but their heyday was past, and this album was to contain their last Top 40 hit, "Straight Shootin' Woman." They tried to split after 1975's Hour of the Wolf but contractual commitments to the record label made them stick it out for 1976's Skullduggery. Another split followed, and yet another reformation followed that. The band's last album of new material was Summerdaze released in 1997.


1. Sookie Sookie
2. Everybody's Next One
3. Berry Rides Again
4. Hootchie Kootchie Man
5. Born To Be Wild
6. Your Wall's Too High
7. Desperation
8. The Pusher
9. A Girl I Knew
10. Take What You Need
11. The Ostrich

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it