Ensemble Plus Ultra - From Spain To Eternity - The Sacred Polyphony Of El Greco's Toledo





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 1.2GB Total play length: 1:10:37

Cover art included, liner notes not included

In 2011 Deutsche Grammophon released a spectacular 10-CD anthology on Archiv Produktion with Ensemble Plus Ultra (EPU), "the finest British early music singers" (Early Music Today), commemorating the 400th anniversary of Tomas de Victoria's death. This box won a Gramophone award.

Now the award winning ensemble is back, with a major recording project to mark the 400th anniversary of the death of El Greco in 2014 — composers including Cristobal de Morales, Alonso Lobo and Alonso de Tejeda were prolific in Toledo during the 37 years El Greco lived and worked there, and much of this music certainly inspired his painting.

Morales is THE Spanish composer of the Renaissance. Kapellmeister at the cathedral in Toledo, but also in Italian cities, he is generally considered to be the most influential Spanish composer before Victoria. Almost all of his music is sacred, and all of it is vocal.

Pieces by Lobo and Tejeda make a wonderful conclusion — all in all a varied program, and encompassing three composers from Toledo during the time of El Greco.


1. Versa est in luctum
2. Clamabat autem mulier Chananea
3. Prudentes virgines
4. Kyrie
5. Gloria
6. Credo
7. Sanctus
8. Benedictus
9. Agnus Dei
10. Quanti mercernarii
11. Rex autem David
12. Expandit Sion manus suas
13. Miserere mei, Deus
14. Ave regina coelorum

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it