Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms

 (Japanese Import)


Warner Bros.



Product No.:
CWAJ 9547 SA
EAN: 4988005811783

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

Features "Money For Nothing" and "Walk of Life"!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 352/500!

Brothers In Arms by Dire Straits, originally released in 1985, is one of the best known rock albums of the '80s.  The album features nine songs written by Knopfler, including one that was co-written by Sting who provides guest vocals on the album as well.

Propelled by Mark Knopfler's literate songs, gruff vocals, and spidery guitar work, Dire Straits had overcome initial skepticism for their resistance to '70s new wave accents in favor of their rootsy traditionalism. This 1985 album captures the band consolidating a far more epic style than the concise shuffles and ballads that the original scrappy quartet had reeled off, their ambitions fueled by the larger canvas afforded by the compact disc.

Brothers In Arms is noteworthy for the MTV staple "Money for Nothing" and the breezy rock shuffle "Walk of Life," as well as for the wistful "So Far Away," the plot-driven narratives of "Ride Across the River," and the title song of course. The album is an amazing mix of styles and moods and produced without a fault all the way through. This was the showpiece album for this group of hard working musicians, and proved Mark Knopfler one of the world's greatest guitarists.

"Mark Knopfler started writing "Money for Nothing" when he overheard a New York appliance salesman's anti-rock-star, anti-MTV rant. The song, of course, became a huge MTV hit, and this album shows off Knopfler's incisive songwriting and lush guitar riffs on "Walk of Life" and "So Far Away."Rolling Stone

1. So Far Away
2. Money For Nothing
3. Walk of Life
4. Your Latest Trick
5. Why Worry
6. Ride Across the River
7. The Man's Too Strong
8. One World
9. Brothers In Arms

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Excellent master of LP version

posted on 08/31/2016
5 Stars
Just a note to warn people that this and the SHM CD are mastered from the original LP not the CD. This means you get edited versions of So Far Away, Money For Nothing, Why Worry, and Your Latest Trick.

Personally I like having both versions, and this is a really good master of a classic album.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.