Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Leon Russell - Leon Russell

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
CSLJ 89003 SA
EAN: 4988005813787
In Stock

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.


or Add to Wishlist

Features Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Ringo Starr, Steve Winwood and more!

The self-titled first solo album by multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter Leon Russell followed his debut with the Midnight String Quartet.

Here, Russell is joined by a list of all-star musicians — Bill Wyman, Steve Winwood, Mick Jagger, Eric Clapton, Delaney & Bonnie, George Harrison, Joe Cocker, Charlie Watts — they all appear on Leon's 1970 debut! His own Delta Lady joins "A Song for You," "Hummingbird," "Dixie Lullaby" and more brilliant stuff. High-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). Japanese pressing.

"Leon Russell never quite hit all the right notes the way he did on his eponymous debut. He never again seemed as convincing in his grasp of Americana music and themes, never again seemed as individual, and never again did his limited, slurred bluesy voice seem as ingratiating. He never again topped his triptych of 'A Song for You,' 'Hummingbird,' and 'Delta Lady,' nor did his albums contain such fine tracks as 'Dixie Lullaby.' Throughout it all, what comes across is Russell's idiosyncratic vision, not only in his approach but in his very construction...Yes, his voice is a bit of an acquired taste, but it's only appropriate for a songwriter with enough chutzpah to write songs of his own called 'I Put a Spell on You' and 'Give Peace a Chance.' And if there ever was a place to acquire a taste for Russell, it's here." -

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted audio from analog tapes.

1. A Song For You
2. Dixie Lullaby
3. I Put A Spell On You
4. Shoot Out On The Plantation
5. Hummingbird
6. Delta Lady
7. Prince Of Peace
8. Old Masters
9. Give Peace A Chance
10. Hurtsome Body
11. Pisces Apple Lady
12. Roll Away The Stone

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.


posted on 03/27/2016
5 Stars
Reviewer: JP
Absolutely sounds great. Fast becoming a go to for turning people onto SACD.

Leon Russell - Leon Russell SHM-SACD

posted on 09/04/2014
5 Stars
Reviewer: Mark Powers
Easy listening and calming release from Leon. This 2 channel stereo (right-left-sub only)is clean with no noise during or between tracks. Regarding who played what on what tracks there is no information. The rear of original cover says "This album is dedicated to": and the list of musicians, Clapton, Starr, Harrison, etc. Not sure if this means they actually played on album or it is acknowledgement of inspiration? SHM-SACD packaging is great with mini versions of original cover, sleeve, includes Japanese liner notes in Japanese but song lyrics are in English. Solid remaster that sounds great.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.