Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Thelonious Monk - Genius Of Modern Music Volume Two


Blue Note



Product No.:

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Also available on:
Vinyl Record

Total download size: 1.63GB

Cover art and liner notes included

Masterd by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. 

"The second volume in this two-disc series displays Thelonious Monk coming into his own fully as a leader. The program consists almost entirely of original compositions, and in fact it contains one of his most difficult: 'Four in One' (with its conventional bop intro that leads into a bizarre, repeated five-against-two quintuplet sequence). Get through it and you'll eventually be rewarded with the relatively straightforward, blues-based "Straight No Chaser" and the sweet ballad 'Ask Me Now,' among other treats. Sidemen include the young trumpeter Kenny Dorham and bassist Al McKibbon, as well as a more clued-in Art Blakey and (replacing Blakey on half of the program) Max Roach. Sahib Shihab's sax tone is more appropriate this time out, and the production quality is somewhat better. This disc, along with Volume 1, belongs in every jazz collection." —

1. Carolina Moon
2. Hornin' In
3. Skippy
4. Let's Cool One
5. Suburban Eyes
6. Evonce
7. Straight No Chaser
8. Four In One
9. Nice Work (If You Can Get It)
10. Monk's Mood
11. Who Knows?
12. Ask Me Now

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it