Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Michael Jackson - Thriller

Total download size: 1.67GB

Cover art and liner notes included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original Sony Super Audio CD cutting masters.

In most cases, our DSD offerings are identical to original DSD data used to create the SA-CD masters. In essence, they are first generation SACD master audio.  As a result, DSD audio levels conform to the MaxPeak specification as defined in the SA-CD Scarlet Book. It is possible that some titles reach, but do not exceed the MaxPeak limit which is about 3dB over 0dB-SACD.  So it is possible that levels can be 3dB higher than the PCM limit.  Most DSD capable playback equipment conforms to this specification.  In the case where the DSD playback system does not meet the MaxPeak specification and distortion is heard,  it might be necessary to lower the level of the DSD file with DSD processing tools such as Audiogate from Korg.

Released November 30, 1982, Thriller would go on to break all sales records while garnering a record seven Top 10 singles and 12 Grammy nominations. It remains one of only three albums to stay on the Billboard 200 Top 10 for one full year.

What is impressive is Jackson's range of musical expression, one that touches the schmaltzy pop of Paul McCartney his duet partner on "The Girl Is Mine" on one side and the hard rock of Van Halen whose guitarist, Eddie Van Halen, is heard on "Beat It" on the other, with plenty of mainstream rock pop and dance music in between. It is no accident that the record found a home in so many record collections there is good music here for everyone.

1. Wanna be Starting Somethin'
2. Baby Be Mine
3. The Girl Is Mine
4. Thriller
5. Beat It
6. Billie Jean
7. Human Nature
8. P.Y.T (Pretty Young Thing)
9. The Lady in My Life