Santana - Abraxas

Total download size: 2.01GB

Cover art included, liner notes not included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original Sony Super Audio CD cutting masters.

"The question on many people's minds is, 'How does (the DSD) sound?' Stunning, is my answer. ... I find this DSD download to be lush, rich, wet and ripe. Damn near tropical. ... Percussion positively pops, Santana's guitar is searingly present, cymbals sparkle, and everything sounds as if it's coming from a real, dimensional place that's as colorful as Mati Klarwein's album cover art." — Michael Lavorgna, AudioStream, November 2013

The San Francisco Bay Area rock scene of the late '60s was one that encouraged radical experimentation and discouraged the type of mindless conformity that's often plagued corporate rock. When one considers just how different Santana, Jefferson Airplane, Moby Grape, and the Grateful Dead sounded, it becomes obvious just how much it was encouraged. In the mid-'90s, an album as eclectic as Abraxas would be considered a marketing exec's worst nightmare. But at the dawn of the 1970s, this unorthodox mix of rock, jazz, salsa and blues proved quite successful. Whether adding rock elements to salsa king Tito Peuente's "Oye Como Va," embracing instrumental jazz-rock on "Incident at Neshabur" and "Samba Pa Ti" or tackling moody blues-rock on Fleetwood Mac's "Black Magic Woman," the band keeps things unpredictable yet cohesive. Many of the Santana albums that came out in the '70s are worth acquiring, but for novices, Abraxas is an excellent place to start.

1. Singing Winds, Crying Beasts
2. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
3. Oye Como Va
4. Incident At Neshabur
5. Se A Cabo
6. Mother's Daughter
7. Samba Pa Ti
8. Hope You're Feeling Better
9. El Nicoya
10. Se A Cabo - Bonus Track
11. Toussaint L'Overture - Bonus Track
12. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen - Bonus Track