Bob Dylan - Highway 61 Revisited

Total download size: 1.13GB Total play length: 51:31

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Taking the first, electric side of Bring It All Back Home to its logical conclusion, Bob Dylan hired a full rock & roll band, featuring guitarist Micheal Bloomfield, for Highway 61 Revisited. Opening with the epic Like a Rolling Stone, Highway 61 Revisited careens through nine songs that range from reflective folk-rock (Desolation Row) and blues (It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry) to flat-out garage rock (Tombstone Blues, From a Buick 6, Highway 61 Revisted) had not only changed his sound, but his persona, trading the folk troubadour for a streetwise, cynical hipster. Throughout the album, he alternates between druggy, surreal imagery, which can either have a sense of menace or beauty, and the music reflects that, jumping between soothing melodies to hard, bluesy rock. And that is the most revolutionary thing about Highway 61 Revisited - it proved that rock & roll needn't be collegiate and tame in order to be literate, poetic and complex.

1. Like A Rolling Stone
2. Tombstone Blues
3. It Takes a lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry
4. From a Buick 6
5. Ballad Of A Thin Man
6. Queen Jane Approximately
7. Highway 61 Revisited
8. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
9. Desolation Row

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it